Voyage to California (28) – John Jackson Lewis – January to March, 1851

(1) John Jackson Lewis, (2) Edith May (Lewis) Rider, (3) Marian Faith (Rider) Irwin, (4) Marian Dunlap (Irwin) Guion, (5) Judith Anne Guion.

The following are transcriptions of John Jackson Lewis’s diary and journal of his voyage to California in 1851. He was travelling  from New York to visit his older brother William in San Jose.

Diary

High wind last night, sea rough, and of course I was seasick in the night and this morning.  We continued in sight of the coast all day.  The monte bank again in operation and is said to have cleared $40 to night.  My supply of crackers brought from Philadelphia was exhausted to day, and henceforth I must rely on the steerage, which is becoming rather homely.  Distance 195 miles.

Journal

High wind and rough seas last night and this morning, and as a natural consequence, I again suffered from seasickness.  To day I finished the last of the stock of crackers laid in at Philadelphia, and sorry was I that I had not more of them.  They have been quite serviceable on several occasions.  Distance accomplished 195 miles.  Our interesting companion the banker is reported to have cleared about $40 this evening.

I will continue this story next Saturday.

Tomorrow, I’ll be posting more information about the Rev. Elijah and Clara Guion and their daughter’s marriages. 

Next week, I will continue this story at the very beginning with Reminiscences of Alfred D. Guion, my Grandfather’s memories of growing up in Mount Vernon, New York in the 1880’s and 1890’s. 

Judy Guion

6 thoughts on “Voyage to California (28) – John Jackson Lewis – January to March, 1851

  1. I believe the term ‘steerage’ was certainly in use for migrants removing to Australia and New Zealand from UK after WWII and their facilities were pretty basic, but adequate. I think we tend to forget that tastes and aspirations have changed with time, but I still think those early travellers were extraordinarily brave and amazingly resilient.

    • Judy Guion says:

      Maureen – Having visited a replica of the Mayflower, I absolutely agree.I also think of the pioneers, especially women and children, who walked across this country looking for a better life. Brave individuals, indeed.

  2. Tandi Tales says:

    Is this banker (dealer) playing monte bank (Mexican card game) a mountebank (charlatan)? Or did he just get lucky? I fear a mutiny is approaching. So many unusual words and names, thank you Google!

    I’ve never heard the old-fashioned word “steerage” before, so I googled it too. I bet John Jackson Lewis never heard the word “google” before!

    Thanks for the interesting posts.

    • Judy Guion says:

      Tandi Tales – Your guess is as good as mine. He wrote monte bank so that would indicate the card game, His phrase “nothing less than a monte bank” implies an adverb describing the dealer. I really don’t know.
      In three weeks, I’ll be posting the recordings for March 2nd, and this may shed some light on this question.
      Steerage is not all that old-fashioned. I am quite familiar with the phrase. Am I “dating” myself?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.