Memories of Early Trumbull (1)

We have come to the end of the written autobiography of Alfred Duryee Guion but I had started adding memories of the children as they fit in to Grandpa’s story. I have decided to continue with their memories as I recorded them over a period of years. I’ve attempted to group them by approximate date and topic, but there may be a few our of place. I apologize for any confusion.

Lad @ 1922

Lad @ 1922

LAD – I don’t have many memories of my Mother. I remember that she was involved with the Women’s Club, and was very, very well-liked by everybody. We always had a lot of visitors. She was very outgoing and friendly and quite pretty. She was very active in the community. Other than the fact that Mom was involved in the community a great deal, she was a good mother. We all like her very much, got along with her.

CED – I don’t believe my Mother had a single enemy in Trumbull. She was President of the Women’s Community cCub, and she was very, very good to her family.

Cedric Duryee Guion

Cedric Duryee Guion

She had practically all of our aunts and some of our uncles living with us in Trumbull at various times. We had a big house and most of them lived in New York City. When they had vacations and when we had holidays, they’d all come up on the train from New York. Sometimes they would drive – it would take them about four hours on the Post Road. I remember those trips too. Traffic was all over the place, stop and go, stop and go.

I always said that I knew one person in town that my mother didn’t like. I don’t believe that the woman ever knew that my mother didn’t like her because she was… I can’t gossip.. She was very critical of other people and that bothered my Mother.

My Mother was very active in town, she was very public-spirited. She helped plant flowers on the green, that sort of thing.

Our house was the center for the local population. All the kids our age congregated at our house because of everything, and my mother course. She was very pro-social, in her own life and in ours. She was a wonderful woman.

We were really one big happy family and we really had fun growing up. Arnold Gibson was part of the group; he was more a part of the family group. He was very fond of our family, and spent a lot of time with us. Arnold was devoted to my mother, too. Everybody that knew her loved her.

LAD – When we started grammar school in Trumbull, we had Emma Linley as a teacher. She and my mother were quite friendly. In fact, she would take me to the Linley’s house, which was in Nichols, and I would play with the older brother, Bill. Later on when I could ride a bicycle, I used to go there by myself.

We went to grammar school in the house that the Sirene’s bought. There were two buildings and the one Dan and I went to was divided into two rooms, first through third grade on one side, fourth through sixth on the other side. The seventh and eighth graders were in the other building. The two buildings were parallel to White Plains Rd. with their entrances facing each other. The town moved that other building to the center of town and made it into a firehouse. That was quite a project because they had to have the electric company people and the telephone company people going along with the building. They would take down the lines and after the building went by, they would put them back up. I guess I went to Sirene’s house for about three years.

Dan and I started school together inTrumbull. I was sent back. I was in second grade in Larchmont when we got to Trumbull, I was sent back into the first grade and Dan and I started together. We went right together until seventh or eighth grade… Dan was more of a scholar that I. He skipped seventh grade, I think. I must’ve skipped a grade (or two) because we didn’t graduate at the same time. I went to high school first and then Dan came.

When we first moved to Trumbull, I met Art Christie, who was a year or two older than I, but we were pals, we played together all the time. Later, he went to school in what became the firehouse. I never got to go to that building, because in 1925, they built Center School, so we went there. The kids that were in the other building, the old firehouse, went to high school. They went to Congress High School in Bridgeport, not Central High School.

When I was eight, Dad took Dan, Ced, and I, possibly Biss, for a walk up behind our property, past the cemetery. There was a slightly sloped hill on the lot, and all of us were rolling down the hill, including Dad. When he got up he said there was something wrong with his eyes, some dirt or something, so we went home. His eye got worse and more bloodshot and it began to hurt more so Mother told him he should go see the Doctor. He was reluctant but finally consented I asked him if I could go and he said yes. When he got to the doctors, the Doctor told him that a piece of stubble had apparently pierced his eye. He sewed it up and when Dad came out he could only see out of one eye, and that was blurred and watery. He asked me if I would steer the car. So I sat on his lap and steered the car, told him when to put on the brakes. He did the shifting and used the clutch, but from that time on, I was very interested in driving. I was only eight!

Tomorrow we continue Ced’s Coming of Age Adventure with some pictures taken while he was in Star Prairie, Wisc. with Uncle Kenneth (youngest brother of Arla’s father, Kemper Peabody.He was actually Ced’s Great-Uncle).

Next week we’ll move back in time to 1940 when Lad was wirking in Venezuela and Dan and Ced have begun their trip to Alaska. Dick and Dave are still at home and Biss is married with a new baby.

Judy Guion

6 thoughts on “Memories of Early Trumbull (1)

  1. Mrs. P says:

    What an interesting, if not confusing school history. You’d have thought it would have been a lot easier to just build a new firehouse.

    I love that he had his first experience driving at 8 years!

    • jaggh53163 says:

      Mrs. P. – I always wondered why they didn’t build new also !! Maybe the town already owned the building and they knew they were building a school, so they thought they could save some money !!

      My Dad always loved cars and engines, and I’ll bet that experience had something to do with it !! 🙂

  2. Gallivanta says:

    My grandparents always had family members staying, some of them for years. This week we have had reports of a substantial increase in elder abuse in New Zealand. The theory is that families are not taking a proper interest in their elderly members, so they become lonely and easy targets for unscrupulous ‘friends’ (and sometimes unscrupulous family members too.). Very sad.

Leave a Reply

