Special Picture (1) – 1922

Arla Mary Peabody Guion and children - Dan, Lad, Ced, Dick, and Biss at the Trumbull house

Arla Mary Peabody Guion and children – Dan, Lad, Ced, Dick, and Biss at the Trumbull house

I’m having trouble with my Dragon Naturally Speaking Voice Recognition Program, therefore, I can’t transcribe any letters and I really don’t want to re-type them! I’m taking my computer to the Doctor’s today for a check-up. Since I don’t know if it will have to be admitted overnight or not, I thought I’d schedule a few posts in case the doctor needs more time to diagnose the problem.

I believe this is the first group picture taken in Trumbull. Dick, the baby on Arla’s lap, was born August 20, 1920 and the family moved into the Trumbull house in Dec, 1922. That would make Dick 16 months old at that time. In this picture he looks slightly older than that and Lad, the oldest, looks about 8 or 9, which would appear to confirm the approximate date of the picture.

This picture was taken by a family friend and, unbeknownst to the family, submitted it to a photo contest for Life Buoy soap. It was not the top winner but was mentioned in the Bridgeport paper as a winner for Connecticut. It was actually used in an advertisement for Life Buoy soap, with a “direct” quote from Mrs. A.D. Guion. That’s how the family found out about it and asked the company not to use it. I’ve actually seen the spread in the local paper on Newspapers.com but because of copy write laws, I can’t show it to you. Our own “15 minutes of Fame”.

9 thoughts on “Special Picture (1) – 1922

  1. It’s a great family photo. I don’t know what the photographer was doing, but it certainly grabbed their attention in a nice way.

    • jaggh53163 says:

      Hilary – I must admit, it is my favorite family photo, even though it was taken before Dave was born. It shows some of the personality of each of the children.

  2. Mrs. P says:

    I hope your computer gets well soon! 🙂 I have gotten so far behind…I keep seeing more and more posts that I’d like to read but have been swamped with work. When it slows down a bit, I pick up where I left off.

  3. quilt32 says:

    I love the photo. I always wanted to have one like this made of me with my grandchildren, but it never happened.
    Lillian

  4. I know how you feel – technology is great as long as it works. I have several letters also please let me know how it works out.

    • jaggh53163 says:

      Diann- Thank you for your interest in my blog and I look forward to reading your posts as well. Research into families is a never-ending quest !!

  5. Gallivanta says:

    The photo is a real “winner” then. What fun.

Leave a Reply

