Trumbull – Dear Partners in Crime (4) – Aug., 1940

I suppose you donors would like to know how I am going to spend all my birthday money. Well, I need a new pair of house slippers, a new electric stove for my bathroom that won’t blacken the walls, a new pair of shoes, a raincoat. (I think I can get along without a new suit although this will be the second year I haven’t bought a suit — last September I bought a new overcoat as Lad’s gift) and I would like to get some clothes suitable for taking walks in the woods that will keep me warm and dry during fall and winter. I am certainly grateful to you boys, that with all your young plans and hopes and ambitions, still have a thought for the old man’s comfort. The spirit is all the more appreciated because I have not done half the things for you youngsters I would like to have done if things had been different.
Lad in VenezuelaAnd you, Lad, I don’t really feel right about using any of the funds you sent home for myself. The several hundreds of dollars you gave last year for

Dan, Ced and car

my use and the house and the $50 you send every month is in all fairness, enough. It is really your contribution that has been keeping us going this last year. That, and Ced’s payments, were the only things that made it possible for me to make the grade. I hope business will pick up next year so things will be better — enough at least to make up for the $10 a month I will forfeit with the loss of the Second Selectman’s job. So, if you don’t mind, I’ll take the will for the deed and not take advantage of your generous offer. My conscience would be clearer. And, Ced, that’s much the way I feel about you. I certainly would feel mighty cheap if you had sent any of last month’s check home under the circumstances. You did just the right thing in keeping it for flying club expenses. You, Dan, haven’t told me what your future plans, if you have yet formulated any, are; but if you were going to the University of Alaska you’ll need to save for that, which makes your generous remittance doubly unselfish. All in all, I’ve got a pretty fine bunch of boys and I’m just a wee bit proud of them.

Dick, at the present time, is causing me a bit of concern. He did mop the floor this morning, but that’s about the extent of his work contribution. He is out late every night and all day Saturday, sleeps late Sunday morning and is out again after Sunday dinner. Dave was so disgusted that he has taken on the job of washing dishes every night besides doing much every afternoon towards getting the supper started. Right now, Dick seems not to have much interest in the home or in doing anything to keep it going smoothly. When Dave took over the dishwashing Dick was supposed to take care of the laundry but that wasn’t done last week either. Maybe this is just a temporary phase of adolescence and will pass, but right now it is annoying. I am not saying anything, just giving him a lot of rope, hoping his native good sense will come to the rescue. We shall see.

Tomorrow I’ll be posting the last section of this letter from Grandpa to his boys. This has been packed full of news and information.

On Saturday and Sunday, I’ll be posting Special Pictures.

On Monday, we’ll move forward to 1941 when Dan and Ced have been in Alaska for over a year and Lad has returned from Venezuela.

Judy Guion

 

Leave a Reply

