Special Picture # 97 – 1959 Christmas Card – Africa

 

This is another Christmas Card Grandpa designed and printed, but the date isn’t clear. I don’t remember what year he went to Africa although I have a few reminders of that trip. Enjoy Grandpa’s view of Africa. ADG - 1956 or 1957 Christmas Card - Africa - cover

 

ADG - 1956 or 1957 Christmas Card - Africa Trip - inside cover

 

ADG - 1956 or 1957 Christmas Card - page 1

 

ADG - 1956 or 1957 Christmas Card - page 2

 

ADG - 1956 or 1957 Christmas Card - Africa - page 3

 

ADG - 1956 or 1957 Christmas Card - page 4

 

ADG - 1956 or 1957 Christmas Card - Africa - page 5

 

ADG - 1956 or 1957 Christmas Card - Africa - centerpiece

 

ADG - 1956 or 1957 Christmas Card - Africa - page 8

 

ADG - 1956 or 1957 Christmas Card - Africa - page 9

 

ADG - 1956 or 1957 Christmas Card - Africa - page 10

 

ADG - 1956 or 1957 Christmas Card - Africa - page 11

 

ADG - 1956 or 1957 Christmas Card - Africa - page 12

 

ADG - 1956 or 1957 Christmas Card - Africa - inside back cover

8 thoughts on “Special Picture # 97 – 1959 Christmas Card – Africa

  1. What a fabulous and fascinating epistle.

  2. Gallivanta says:

    And your grandfather would probably not be the least bit surprised that the steamer he travelled on across Lake Tanganyika still operates today. http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b04pks5t What a wonderfully exciting trip from Cairo to Capetown.

  3. Arla says:

    I have some of Grandpa’s cards, but hadn’t seen the flower one from yesterday. I think I have this one (hope). In spite of changes, the African people are still gracious, as are most people. I remember very well the freighter he and I took to France…it was so nice. I loved the dining room. We had smorgasbord for lunch and multi-course dinners. Of course, since I was the only child on board, I had lots of attention! Thanks for posting these cards. Grandpa put a lot of effort and love into them. I do miss him.

  4. Mrs. P says:

    Wow…what a great card and fantastic trip! I had heard of the friendliness of people back then, particularly in Rhodesia but times changed and Apartheid was in full swing.

    Love the local history with each place he went. When I worked in a skilled nursing home, one of the resident had traveled abroad via freighter. She loved it!

    • jaggh53163 says:

      As I was looking for all the cards, scattered in a dozen places, I realized that I had read all the ones with pictures and drawings of the family but not the ones about travel or history. I have really enjoyed reading them for the first time.

Leave a Reply

