Trumbull – Score is 100% This Week (2) – Certain Words of Advice – Oct., 1940

 No. R-98

October 20, 1940

Trumbull, Conn.

Dear Ced:

Ced - 1938          I was just wondering what you do Sundays without the Funnies, or maybe the Anchorage paper puts out a Sunday magazine section and you are able to follow the adventures of the Gump’s, Wimpy, Joe Palooka, Li’l Abner, et al.

Certain words of advice of yours have been hounding me for the last few weeks and today I finally got around to doing something about it. I referred to the motor which operates the stoker in the furnace. I had left and order some time ago for Mercer’s servicemen to call, and then your letter arrived with its very sensible suggestion as to the advisability of my having a regular motor man make the repairs, and thus save money. The servicemen had not showed up so today I thought I would go down, get under and detach the motor so as to take it down to the motor repair man tomorrow. I turned on the switch and got only a little hum but no action. Off with the switch and down and under to see what sort of tools would be required to unscrew the motor from the base and disconnect it from the blower.

Blog - 2015.01.13 - (2) - wores - this should have been an i

I pushed aside the lead-in wores   (this should have been an i – you’ve got a nasty mind) to see better, and fearing I might have disturbed the connections as they seemed pretty wobbly, I tried the switch again and this time got absolutely no response at all. This made me a bit suspicious so I checked on the lead-in wire’s connections to the motor and found one wire off entirely. I put it back on, screwed up the holding nut, turned on the switch and away we went as strong as ever. So, unless I am greatly mistaken, that was what the trouble was toward the end of last season and not worn brushes or burned-out parts. I felt just like Dan when he found his luggage was not under tons of baggage as he had at first believed.

You have several times mentioned how pleasant and thoughtful the Bragaw’s are and how much you enjoyed visiting them. I don’t need any more hearsay evidence. I have definite proof. A coffee tin filled with the little red berries arrived this week and are now in the refrigerator waiting for culinary treatment. They are smaller than I imagined. Rusty had mentioned them as being similar to the Swedish cranberries and I am looking forward to tasting them. In fact, I should have cooked them today were it not for the fact that this has been a very unpredictable 24 hours. Things both inside and outside are getting ahead of me, what with all you boys away and my being extra busy in moving activities. To cap it all I have been feeling somewhat indisposed with a cold. I did hope to get some work done outside yesterday, perhaps some of the screens taken down and storm windows put up, or leaves raked up, or driveways smoothed out, or incinerator cleaned out before freezing weather, but I just didn’t feel ambitious enough to tackle the job alone, Dave having been invited to visit Bruce Lee in Westport for the afternoon, so I cleaned up the kitchen, cleaned up downstairs a bit and puttered around on a few odd jobs and before I knew it Bruce drove up with Dave and stayed for several hours talking as only Bruce can talk. Dave, in the meantime, had developed suddenly a very hard cold and had gone to bed. The poor lad did not sleep much during the night so, what with getting his breakfast, carting up wood for a fire in his room, vacuuming, cleaning it, straightening it out, getting dinner, washing dishes, getting more wood, etc., I did not accomplish anything today either.

It looks as though I may have obtained a new tenant for the apartment – – a reporter for the Times Star, who, with his wife and seven months old child now lives in New Haven, has all but decided to move in on November 1st. I am waiting for final word as soon as his wife has given the place the once over.

Tomorrow I’ll post the final section of this letter, addressed to Dick.

On Thursday, a quick note from Ethel Bushey to Lad and then the first half of a letter from Grandpa to his boys.

I’ll finish the week with the final portion of that letter.

On Saturday and Sunday, Special pictures.

On Monday, a week of letters written in 1941 after Lad has returned from Venezuela and Dan has returned from Alaska. They are both working at the Producto Plant in Bridgeport. Dick and Ced are still in Alaska.

Judy Guion

2 thoughts on “Trumbull – Score is 100% This Week (2) – Certain Words of Advice – Oct., 1940

  1. Reading the Sunday funnies–brought back pleasant childhood memories. I also remember when most people heated their homes with coal.

    • jaggh53163 says:

      I also remember the funnies. Lad was particularly fond of Pogo and Li’l Abner.
      I don’t remember when the Trumbull house was heated with coal. I do remember where the coal chute was and where the coal was stored, though.

Leave a Reply

