Army Life – Review And Possible Weekend Pass – May, 1942

APG - Aberdeen Proving Grounds insignia

May 31st, 1942

Dear Dad: –

Although it was hotter by 10° or 15° in Venezuela, I don’t think that I was ever more uncomfortable due to high humidity. Regardless of how little energy I use, even just using my brain, I perspire. It really is H O T.

Yesterday, according to custom, we all here in Aberdeen had a review. We went out on the parade grounds in our best uniforms, cartridge belts and rifles at 11:30 and were there until a few minutes after one. It was hot out there too and quite a number of the fellows passed out under the strain of standing at attention. However I was not affected in the least. (I just refilled my pen.)

As luck would have it, our quarantine was called off early, and 1/2 of our Co. was allowed to leave camp. I was one of those given a pass but I had a detail, night, at that, good old K.P. and could not use it. The next time passes are issued I’ll have a preference because I turned mine over to one of the other fellows. But it will not be this coming week since Co. B is apparently going onto guard duty, and there will be no passes issued. The weekend of the 14th, if we do not go out on bivouac, I’ll have a chance to come home, and will arrive in Bridgeport at the same time Dan did, since it will be the same train he took, I think, somewhere in the neighborhood of 10:30 PM. However, I cannot know definitely until 4:30 in the afternoon of the day I come home, so I cannot give you any further definite information. If I call you at Trumbull, you will know I made it. If I don’t, you can be sure I didn’t make the pass. That’s rather a cruel way of putting it, but it’s the best I can do. We have been asked to write home frequently by the !st Corps Area, but then they put so many restrictions on what we can say about interesting things that I have very little I can write about.

As long as information is only general it is okay to mention it. For example – I can tell you the Camp  Rodman here is rather a nice place and is nicely situated as far as terrain is concerned, but I cannot give any definite information like the number of men here or the size of the camp or how many rounds of ammunition we use for rifle practice or the number of rounds we carry on guard duty – etc.

But anyhow, I’ll answer, to the best of my ability, any questions you care to ask.

Well, Dad, if luck holds out, I may see you on the second weekend in June. If not then – “quien sabe.”

Lad

For the rest of the week, I’ll be posting a letter Grandpa wrote to all three boys.

 To follow the War and the invasion of Alaska, go to  https://pacificparatrooper.wordpress.com. GP Cox does  very thorough research on each post. As you follow the posts, you will learn what actually happened – a piece of our history that was overshadowed by what was happening elsewhere.

Saturday and Sunday will be more Special Pictures.

Judy Guion

2 thoughts on “Army Life – Review And Possible Weekend Pass – May, 1942

  1. Janet says:

    Fascinating reading. My brother served in the Navy 1942-1945.

Leave a Reply

