Trumbull – Letters to Lad, Dan and Ced (1) – June, 1942

??????????????????????????

Trumbull, Conn.,   June 7, 1942

Dear Lad:

Perhaps it is superfluous to mention it, but your note was very welcome indeed and was enjoyed by family and friends. You probably received my postal card. Here is a bit more detail. Friday Steve Kascak called me at the office and said he thought he had a purchaser for your car – – a man named Dow, who lives in Trumbull and works at Bridgeport Brass. He mentioned to Steve that he was looking for a Buick and Steve evidently succeeded in selling him on how careful you were about keeping the car in condition, etc. Steve brought him up to look at it in the barn, and of course it was locked up and they could not try it out. I told Steve you are asking $750 for it. Later Steve called me again and said he knew the man, believed him reliable and as he was willing to pay cash he thought perhaps you might be willing to lower the price a bit. Later that evening Mr. Dow called. I drove the car out of the barn (at least Dick did)  and after looking over the tires carefully he said he would paying me $650 cash the next night. I told him you had authorized me to accept not less than $700 as you had paid over $900 for it and the only thing I could do under the circumstances would be to get in touch with you and transmit his offer. He said he had no doubt as to its mechanical condition as Steve had assured him on that point. He said there was no rush when I offered to wire you, so I said I would be writing you today anyway and he said that would be O.K. Did you say anything to Steve about allowing him a commission if he made a sale? If not, do you think I ought to offer Steve anything and if so, how much? Steve is not the kind of person who would demand anything. He did say he thought if you could sell the car for a reasonable sum it would be wiser to get it now rather than hold out for a higher price sometime in the indefinite future. Perhaps we could take a chance on offering him $675, but if I made that offer I would want to stick to it and mean that or no sale. However, that is up to you and I shall do just what you say. Perhaps if you come home next week and we could let it rest until then, you could close the deal yourself. Dow says he doesn’t need the car until July.

A notification from the North End Bank arrived to the effect that the note for $615 was due June 5. I called the bank to tell them you had started working for Uncle Sam and on the salary you were being paid, it would be impossible for you to continue payments at the same rate. They told me they were on the point of getting in touch with you to tell you the government had just passed a new regulation that made it necessary for you to increase your payments in order that the loan might be paid back within the year limit that the government had set, and I told him I would stop in and talk the matter over with him. Of course, they’ve got us by the short hair because they have it fixed so that they will look to me to make good if you can’t.

And while we’re on this financial subject, there is some offsetting good news that helps but does not solve the matter. Mrs. Lee has refunded the $6.50 on your insurance and will have an additional rebate for us as soon as the car is disposed of and fire and theft insurance canceled. Also, Ced, in a letter just received, remits an additional $25 to be credited to you, and there is also a dividend check from Fairbanks Morse for $5. You received a bill from Carl for some 16 odd dollars which I have paid. Your watch hadn’t been finished when I called for it but I will get it next week and have it for you when you come home. I also have the photos finished up from Howland’s and these are also awaiting your homecoming.

Thursday and Friday, I’ll be posting the sections of the letter written to Dan and Ced.

To follow the War and the invasion of Alaska, go to  https://pacificparatrooper.wordpress.com. GP Cox does  very thorough research on each post. As you follow the posts, you will learn what actually happened – a piece of our history that was overshadowed by what was happening elsewhere

On Saturday and Sunday, more Special Pictures.

 Judy Guion

4 thoughts on “Trumbull – Letters to Lad, Dan and Ced (1) – June, 1942

  1. What complicated lives they all led and at such a distance from each other.

    • jaggh53163 says:

      Hilary – But Grandpa was the glue that kept them together. When each came back from the war, they came to Trumbull. Lad, Dan and Dave raised their children in the same house. Biss, Dick and Ced all started out in nearby towns. My generation continues to be close. It is Grandpa’s and Grandma’s great-grandchildren who are not connected and I’m working very hard to try and correct that. There are 49 of them, scattered from CA and OR, to AZ, CO, MO, AR, FL, NY, CT, NH, ME and the UK. Not an easy task.Hopefully, we’ll have a great number of them at out Family Reunion (every 5 years) this summer in New Hampshire.

  2. Mrs. P says:

    Great picture!

    • jaggh53163 says:

      Mrs. P. – It is one of my favorites because it is actually half of a picture Mom and Dad used as their first family picture Christmas card.in 1945. !946 included Mom, Dad, my twin brother Doug and myself. They continued the tradition until Doug and I graduated high school and went out into the world. Then it was too difficult to get us all together for a picture !!!

Leave a Reply

