Army Life – A Poem About A Stamp – June, 1942

???????????????????Trumbull, Conn.  June 21, 1942

Students !

In true K. Kyser fashion, I have been putting myself through a series of mental tests and believe I have the right answers. There’s Lad, to start off with the oldest. He is at the Proving Grounds. “Proving what?” you ask. Why, proving that no matter how tired or overworked he is, he can still find time to write a weekly letter home. Dan has recently had T-5 tacked on to his name. I don’t know how the C.O. got wind of the fact that he is very reticent about boosting morale of the boys back on the home front, but I suspect “T” stands for taciturn raised to the 5th degree. And as for Ced, it’s beginning to dawn on me that the word Anchorage, according to Webster, meaning that to which anything is fastened, must refer to the difficulty Ced finds in prying letters free from his typewriter. In any event, Lad is the only one this week that has kept the home fires burning, and to him, therefore, on this June day, go our grateful thanks.

Lad’s car is not yet sold but the wife of the man who was interested in it called me up yesterday and said her husband was still interested. I told her the least we could accept was $675 cash. She said her husband would probably get in touch with me later as he still had bought no other car. The morning following that on which I received Lads letter naming this bottom price, as I went out to the barn to get into my own car, I saw that Lad’s left front tire was as flat as they ever get, so I had Carl come over at once to fix it up, so that I would not be embarrassed and having my customer come up to look at the car and find the tires kapoot. (Siwash for flat).

The Government has just passed a new miracle, as they say in Green Pastures, to the effect that all notes for less than $1000 must be paid off within a year, and accordingly the bank notified Lad through me that the current payments of $50 a month he had been paying were not large enough to comply with this ruling. I pointed out the hardship placed upon boys drafted into the service at the low rate of pay even with the proposed raise, in paying off debts contracted in good faith and with every indication of being able to reasonably meet payments while employed in industry, under the new ruling. They agreed with me that it was most unreasonable but pointed out they had not made the law. I finally took it up with the head of the bank and finally wrangled a renewal of Lad’s note without further payment on principle, but with interest, until August 5th, by which time it was thought that some adjustment might be found. That is the way the matter stands today.

Lad says he is now about starting an eight week technical training course, at the end of which time he may be permitted to bring down a car. He had mentioned the possibility of perhaps coming home this weekend, so I got an extra box of strawberries from Mr. Laufer for dessert and kept one ear cocked for a phone call until 10:45 last night – – and then sadly retired to my little bed.

Dave’s school term is pretty nearly over, but I hastened it a bit by keeping him out of school Thursday and Friday to help rush out a 15,000 letter mailing for Ashcroft which had to be in the mail last week to comply with the government ruling (they are doing 100% war work over there). We did it, too, although we were delayed in getting the necessary letterheads until Wednesday noon. He is developing into quite a considerable help to me in the work at the office and is getting on to things in good shape. I may put him out on sales work this summer and he is considering the advisability of changing his school course from college prep to commercial. The only full-time employee I have at the office has returned from a two weeks honeymoon and then had to stay out half the week with a cold, in addition. In spite of this, if I hear from Dan favorably, I may be able to arrange to get off for a few days to go down to see Dan and Lad in their natural habitat, leaving Dave to run the office and aAunt Betty to hold down the doormat.

Dick has received notification to appear for his physical exam at Shelton at 2:30 Tuesday, and Red also received a similar notice for the same day an hour later. The latter, however, is trying to get a deferment so that he can finish his summer course at Pratt.

The sewer drain pipe which for a week has been leaking back into the cellar and filling the house with a most unholy stench has now been fixed and while there is still water in the cellar, the bad smell is clearing up. This condition has prevented our making a search in the cellar for old rubber in the national drive to “get in the scrap”.

As there seems to be no further news of interest to report, I shall end with a little poem:

A stamp’s a tiny, flimsy thing

   No thicker than a beetle’s wing

And yet, ‘twill roam the world for you

   Exactly where you tell it to.

But Dan and Ced too often fail

   To put the damn thing in the mail.

                                                                                                                                        DAD

To read about the Japanese invasion in Wikipedia, click on this link:   http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aleutian_Islands_Campaign

 To follow the War and the invasion of Alaska, go to  https://pacificparatrooper.wordpress.com. GP Cox does  very thorough research on each post. As you follow the posts, you will learn what actually happened – a piece of our history that was overshadowed by what was happening elsewhere.

Tha Aleutian campaign pretty much ended at the end of May, but I posted letters into June to let you see that Grandpa really didn’t know anything about it and he didn’t hear from Dan or Ced, so it was a non-issue in Trumbull.

Tomorrow and Sun day, I’ll be posting more Special Pictures.

Next week, I’ll go back to my usual schedule of posting, beginning with a week of letters written in 1040, when Lad was still in Venezuela, working for the Socony-Vacuum Oil Company as a mechanic for their vehicles and diesel pumps on the rigs.

Dan and Ced have been in Alaska for about six months. I’ll start off on Monday and Tuesday with a letter that was just given to me by my cousin, Arla, written by her father, Dan, to Grandpa. I have never seen this letter and it describes in part their journey driving across the country to Seattle and their trip to Anchorage as well as their first attempts to find a job. I think you’ll enjoy it.  

The rest of the week will be a long letter written in November, 1940, by Grandpa to his boys. 

Judy Guion

4 thoughts on “Army Life – A Poem About A Stamp – June, 1942

  1. alesiablogs says:

    that poem was short and sweet and to the point!

Leave a Reply

