Special Picture # 123 – Marian’s Birthday Book

My Mom, Marian Irwin Guion, wrote in a letter to me:

“Here are some names and birthdays of some of the Irwin and Ryder relatives.All of these old names were written by the people themselves in most cases….The Birthday Book was sent to me by Aunt Daut McLeod when I was one year old, so I think the signatures were gotten before the book was sent to me. Aunt Daut must have lived in Pittsburg – collected all the signatures and then sent the book to me in California. … Dad always said he had millions of cousins in Pittsburg.”

MIG - Birthday Book - cover

All of the writings and verses on the pages of this book were written by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow.

(You may note that her name is spelled incorrectly on the cover – Marion – the male spelling)

 

MIG - Birthday Book - inside Birthday Greetings

BIRTHDAY GREETINGS FROM 

Auntie Daut

Jean and

Sarah McLeod

BIRTHDAY GREETINGS TO

Marian Irwin

Xmas, 1916

 

MIG - Birthday Book - George W. Snamen, 10.12.1839

At the bottom of the left hand page is the name George W. Snaman, October 12, 1839. He was my Mother’s Father’s Grandfather, making him my great-great-grandfather.

6 thoughts on “Special Picture # 123 – Marian’s Birthday Book

  1. Gallivanta says:

    What a beautiful book. I had forgotten that we used to have birthday books. This one is special.

Leave a Reply

