Life in Alaska – Dan’s Letter to Lad (2) – The Job Search – July, 1940

Daniel (Dan) Beck Guion

Daniel (Dan) Beck Guion

Ced Guion

Ced Guion

The boat trip was perfect. There were several young people on the boat who happened to click, and we organized what we called “the family”. We visited ports on shore together, Ketchikan, Juneau, Cordova, – – and at Valdez the family disintegrated, most of them leaving for other destinations. Ced and I arrived in Seward on July 2, and came by train to Anchorage. We had a hell of a time finding lodgings, since many of the Alaskans had come into town to celebrate the 4th, and many newly arrived “Cheechakos” had come up from the states (“outside”) to get jobs at the new Army Air Base under construction. I left Ced guarding the baggage on Main Street while I went from Hotel to rooming house, searching in vain for rooms. At length I approached Dennis Rooms, as announced by a sign over the door. I knocked. The door, after a bit, swung open, and a frowzy girl, clad flimsily in a pair of girl’s overalls, smiled up at me. “Have you any rooms?” I asked. “Rooms? We have no rooms!” She paused, then added, “Only girls!” “I big your pardon”, I apologized. “I’m looking for rooms.”

**********

We searched for Mr. Stohl, and found him soon. Ced asked if he had heard from Rusty that we were coming. “Did Heurlin tell you to come up here?” He questioned rather brusquely. “Yes”, we told him. “Well, I am full at the mine. But you boys won’t have any trouble finding work.” He seemed anxious to be on his way. We thanked him, and left. After trying several places, we learned that the railroad was shorthanded because all it’s employees had found more lucrative employment at the Air Base. The Air Base office told us that they were employing only Alaskans. So we decided to wait until after the 4th, then, if we still could find no work, we would work for the Railroad. On July 5 both Ced and I found temporary jobs, Ced at a gas station, I at a grocery store. After a week Ced landed a job at the airport as Ass’t. Mechanic, where he hopes to learn aviation from the ground up, literally! In the meantime, by persistently haunting the office of the Army Air Base, I was permitted to fill out an application, and after further high pressuring, I was hired as levelman on a survey crew. I’ll probably stick to this job until the work is done for the summer, because I am being paid well. A  $1.15 per hour, 52 hour week. It amounts to about $59 weekly, which is more money than I have ever earned. Ced and I are living cheaper than seems possible in a booming town where prices are high. I figure that I shall spend about $15 per week for expenses. Whether I shall go to School this fall at Fairbanks, or work all winter, or return “outside”, I do not know. It depends, of course, on circumstances.

********

Rusty has not told us when he will come to Alaska. I have written to Jim Shields, asking him to come up and join the boom. He has always wanted to go to Alaska. He and I used to discuss the possibilities by the hour in Totuche and Bobare (Venezuela).

***********

I have been disappointed in many ways in Alaska, mostly because it is not sufficiently different from “outside” to be interesting. I make an exception of the scenery. I suppose that by comparison with S. America it seems too commonplace. I wish, and even hope, that I might get down to see you before you leave Ven. permanently (if you ever do).

Whether you “have time” or not, I insist that you escribame pronto y mucho. Se puede enviar cartas por avion o por correo ordinario. No importa. Y ahora, yo espero.

Dan

Tomorrow, another letter from Dan to his Father and others in Trumbull.

On Saturday and Sunday, Special Pictures.

On Monday, I’ll begin a week of letters written in 1941. Lad, Dan and Dick have returned to the fold in Trumbull and Ced remains alone in Alaska. The War has started and we will actually move in to 1942.

Why not share this fascinating look into the lives of an American family as it happens in the 1940’s with a friend or two? They might find it as interesting as you do.

Judy Guion 

 

Leave a Reply

