Friends – L.K. Sieck From Ames, Iowa to Lad – Jan., 1942

APG - L.K.Sieck letter, Jan., 1942 Ames,Iowa

January 17, 1942

Dear Al:

Many momentous things have happened since I received your letter. I am still learning trigonometry, descriptive geometry, etc., but expect that Uncle Sam will be needing me in other places. I have done well in military here at college, having gotten an excellent rating and a promotion.

I never did get around to look up Charles Hall. I had planned on coming down to Connecticut for a few days during Xmas vacation. Those plans had to be discarded as my family wanted me home. I see now that we will have no spring vacation so I don’t know when I’ll be able to see you.

My brother (the day after the Japs attacked Pearl Harbor) went for a physical test for entrance in the Air Corps. He now has passed everything but lacks two years of college. The Elks Club is giving him classes to prepare him for the final educational test. Of course the latest is that they have lowered the requirements.

I still have hopes of seeing those films. I have moved and am now living at 2901 Oakland St. It is a professor’s home and he says he can get me an 8 mm or 16 mm or 37 mm from the college. If you think they would be safe let me know and I will pay for sending them. I wouldn’t need them but a very short time and I am sure they would return to you in the best of condition.

As I mentioned previously, I don’t know when I will be able to see you. I hope to make a trip down there before I go marching off to Asia, Africa, Europe or some new front. I have never been east of New York as you know?????

Yours truly,

L.K. Sieck

2901 Oakland St.

Ames,Iowa

This is the second request for the films that Lad took in Venezuela. I believe L.K. Sieck was there at the same time as Lad.

The rest of the week will be devoted to letters from Grandpa to Ced, since both Dan and Lad are home and dealing with draft issues.

 Judy Guion

Leave a Reply

