Trumbull – Dear G.I. Joe – Meeting Marian – Oct., 1942

Lad and Marian Guion, 1943

Lad and Marian Guion

Trumbull, Conn., October 15, 1942

Dear G.I. Joe:

(and of course Ced and Marian also)

There is little of interest to report this week in the way of local importance. We celebrated Aunt Betty’s birthday Wednesday, which by a strange coincidence was her birthday. The day before she was thrilled by getting an appreciative birthday letter from Dave, and the day after one each from Lad and Marian, so it turned out to be sort of three-day celebration. In commemoration of passing her 81st milestone she had the day before signed a new will and also took the bandage off her leg. I don’t think I told you in any of my previous letters that a week or so ago, while carrying the kitchen stove in one hand and the dining room table in the other, she slipped just outside the telephone booth where the dining room has ambitions of becoming a second story into the living room, and sprained or bruised her knee. The public health nurse was summoned and told to bathe it and if this was not effective within a short time to see a doctor. The pain still persisted, she did see a doctor one day through Catherine’s courtesy. Her leg was strapped and she was told to keep off it as much as possible and avoid going up and down stairs. As aformentioned, the leg having improved under this treatment, the day before her birthday the bandage was removed and she is now practically O.K. again.

In a letter received from Dave this week (and also in Lad’s letter to Aunt Betty) there was the announcement of a pincer’s movement gradually closing on Marian. When General Dan’s Army of occupation and General Dick’s Brazilian contingent close in on the flanks, the encirclement will be complete. For the benefit of those of you who are not as familiar with military strategy, I will explain to you layman that this means the APGs  (Alfred Peabody Guions) and DPG (David Peabody Guion) finally met, having compromised on a halfway meeting place, sort of a Teheran conference in the Guion annals. The news dispatch of the proceedings is as follows: “Well, at long last I met my second sister-in-law. I got a three-day pass for Saturday, Sunday and Monday to Little Rock, Ark., and left camp Friday night. Lad got a weekend pass good until Monday morning. We met about 9:30 Saturday morning. I spent all day Saturday and Sunday morning with them. I like Marian very much – – but who doesn’t? Lad looks fine and everything was perfect – – except that I was going to go back to Miss. with them until we found the connections were so poor. (You see they had come up to Little Rock in the Buick) I left them at 12:30 Sunday noon. I spent the night at the Salvation Army USO at Smith where I am now. A bus at noon to Fayetteville where I will spend the afternoon and evening thence by bus to Neosho. I expect to reach camp at 5:30 tomorrow morning. I just figured out that on a 3-day pass I could come to Trumbull and stay for about an hour if you could meet me at the railway station. I’ll soon be going through Van Buren, Bob Burn’s hometown. This trip is taking me through the Ozarks where there certainly is some beautiful scenery. These Ark. towns are certainly “Western”. All the jukeboxes play Bradley Kincaid – – Ced would love it here.”

Marion again has earned her right to maintain her title, but best of all was the long expected photo of Lad and Marian, and it was well worth waiting for. Thank you both very much. I didn’t reply by airmail to your letter as to what Dick might want because both Jean and myself are absolutely at a loss what to send in our own boxes, so you’ll just have to do what we are doing and follow the old maid’s recipe for getting a husband: “Shut your eyes, grab hard and trust in the Lord”. No other letters. I’ve waited so patiently now for more news from Dan and Ced. I hope it won’t be long now.

DAD

Tomorrow, a letter from Grandma Peabody to Ced, Then a letter from Marian to the family in Trumbull, and then on Thursday and Friday, a two-page letter from Grandpa to the younger generation far from home.

If you find it interesting to learn about the ordinary lives of a family during the 1940s, why not share this Blog site with a friend or relative? They might like it as much as you do.

Judy Guion

Leave a Reply

