Trumbull – Dear Baby Snooks (2) – Letters From Corporal Dave and Marian – Oct., 1944

Trumbull House - from the front, showing the steps to the Front doorTrumbull House - the driveway and the back of the house

In these pictures, you can’t even see all the windows,

so you can imagine what a job it is in the spring and fall to replace storm windows or screens.

This week has been the busiest I have put in at the office for a long time. A total of some 34,000 letters had to be produced for Governor Baldwin to go to new voters (see sample enclosed). Of course I worked until late yesterday and so did not have my regular Saturday afternoon at home to try to catch up on the storm window situation. I did get in a few hours this morning and this afternoon, but compared to the amount still to be accomplished the net result was pitifully small.

Carl came home yesterday, having just conveyed a bunch of German prisoners over from France. He says they were either boys or old man, some even 60 and a few badly wounded and all tired of the war and glad to get to America. Carl had to go back again for another assignment yesterday.

Two letters from Dave this week! In the first he says his team consists of 40 men. “I truthfully can’t think of a better bunch of guys to go across with. There are rumors that we will have two more weekends at Crowder. I want you to know that my morale at present is higher than it’s been at any time since I was at home last June. I’m really pepped up over the situation. On my 3-day pass after I left Fort Smith I went to Fayetteville as planned, but, I ran into a little Arkansas lass and that was not planned. Last week I went down to see her again – – she’s really pretty nice and makes good company. Nothing serious in all this, of course, but it gives me something to do with my off time.” His second letter, however, has a bit of right interesting news that puts him right up in your class. He writes: “I made it. They call me Corporal now. I took a test the day before yesterday. It wasn’t very hard but I had my doubts as to whether I had passed. But today the lieutenant told us all we had passed. Of course, I’ve already got my stripes on. You can tell my brothers that I’m on my way up the ladder and that I’ll keep plugging till I catch up to them and in time I’ll pass them all – – oh yeah? There’s still nothing definite as to when we will pull out of Crowder, but rumors are plentiful. I’ll let you know when – – – –“.

Congratulations, young son. Better tell the man to throw in a strap with that wrist watch you were going to get for your birthday gift from the Pater. By the way I have not received a bill yet for the purchase nor even notification of the amount. Better let me know pronto so I can send you a check before you leave Crowder. Where do you want your Christmas box sent and what do you want in it? (Flora papers please copy)

And speaking of Flora, Marian the dependable has again chalked up another run to her score. In a letter written on the 26th she says: “The Battalion has been issued new clothes and they have been given until Nov. 1 to dispose of their cars, but it seems to me we went through this routine once before at Pomona and look how long it took us to get out of there! Nevertheless we are arranging and packing as much as possible so that I can leave here at a moment’s notice. We haven’t the slightest idea which P.O.E. the fellows will be sent to, but in case it is New York or its vicinity, I’d like to be around there as quickly as I can get there in case Lad has a chance to get away for even a few hours.”

Your check instructions have been noted, Marian, and will be duly observed. Meanwhile if you find yourself in need of funds, you know what to do.

Between Jean not hearing from Dick when expected and I anxiously awaiting a letter from Dan, we both of us weep on the other fellow’s shoulder. However she did get a couple of letters from Brazil this week which leaves me still “expecting”.

Aunt Betty was “made a voter” the other day which means another vote for Dewey, and Baldwin. Zeke and Elizabeth however are voting for Mc Levy for Gov. I don’t think Jean has qualified yet so at least she won’t vote for Roosevelt. You all know where I stand. Well, it won’t be long now. Here’s hoping – – I’ve been doing that for welve years.

While final reports on the destruction of the Jap fleet are not in, it certainly looks good in the Philippine sector. Now if Dan will hurry up with those invasion maps so General Ike can get his final push started maybe it won’t be too bad if Lad and Dave do have to go across the big drink.

In spite of rock and tempest’s roar,

In spite of false lights on the shore

Sail on, nor fear to breast the sea

Our hearts, our hopes are all with thee

Our hearts, our hopes, our prayers, our tears,

Are all with thee, are all with thee.

Dad.

Tomorrow, I’ll be posting more Special Pictures.

On Monday, I’ll begin a week of letters written in 1940, when Lad was in Venezuela and Dan and Ced were in Alaska.

Judy Guion

Leave a Reply

