Special Picture # 145 – Grandpa visiting Aunt Helen and Aunt Dorothy in San Francisco – 1960

ADG - ADG visiting Helen and Dorothy in San Francisco - 1960

Aunt Helen (Peabody) Human – Mrs. Ted Human who hired Lad and Dan for work in Venezuela)).Grandpa and Aunt Dorothy, (the youngest sister of Grandma Arla.) Both women were living in the San Francisco area at the time. (Notice the gloves…)

ADG - Dorothy feeding squirrel in San Francisco - 1960

Aunt Dorothy feeding a squirrel at Golden Gate Park in San Francisco.

4 thoughts on “Special Picture # 145 – Grandpa visiting Aunt Helen and Aunt Dorothy in San Francisco – 1960

  1. Mrs. P says:

    I love these pictures! Now, you were nearby at this time, right…or was that later. Did you get to visit with them, too?

    • jaggh53163 says:

      Mrs. P. – My parents didn’t move to Marin County until 1966. I was in college on the east coast and stayed here. I did see Aunt Dorothy and Aunt Helen, probably on my first Christmas break in 1966, but sadly, at that time I really didn’t know who they were !!!

      • Mrs. P says:

        Isn’t it funny as we age and mature we gain an understanding of the richness of life that can be shared by getting to know older people. Nowadays I find myself excited to talk to them, never knowing what jewels I may walk away with. When I was young I couldn’t have been bothered to know anything about them and never would have considered that they might have useful ideas or information.

        • jaggh53163 says:

          Mrs. P. – That is so true, and so sad. There must be millions of fascinating stories that have gone with the people who lived them. That’s one of the reasons I’m doing this blog. I don’t want this era to be forgotten too, or just become a footnote. It was a special time in history and shouldn’t be forgotten.

Leave a Reply

