Have I Got Stories For You…..

Today, I step away from the Island history in photos because this post is my 1000th post on this Blog. To celebrate, I thought I’d look back and re-post my very first entry into the blogosphere. I hope I have grown and learned from my experiences and that my posts are more interesting now. I’ve been adding pictures for quite some time now. Please enjoy the beginning…..

 

Hundreds of Them….

I’ve always been fascinated by the stories behind history… What a person was thinking… Why they made the choices they did… How a different decision could have changed the world.

My father’s family history goes back to the persecution of the French Huguenots and their escape to this country. They settled in New Rochelle, New York, in 1687. I know a little bit about their story but my stories come from a much more recent era. My grandfather, Alfred Duryee Guion, was born in 1884, and married Arla Mary Peabody in 1913 in Mount Vernon, New York. They had five children before moving to a small town in Connecticut where their last child was born. My stories are based on his autobiography, hundreds of letters he wrote to his sons as they went off to fight in World War II, other letters from family members and friends, the recorded memories of those children and hundreds of photos and memorabilia.

Taking a gun apart – “…the insides sort of erupted!”

The following story is taken from my grandfather’s autobiography written in the spring of 1960 while he was on a four months “around the world” freighter trip at the age of 75.

 In the top drawer of my father’s dresser, where among other things he kept pomade for his hair, brilliantine for his mustache, Orris root etc., he had a small Chased pearl-handled revolver as well as a Harrington & Richards 5-shooter for safety sake because our house was on the outskirts of town and was occasionally visited by tramps looking for a handout. The fancy little firearm intrigued my boyish fancy and while I had been told never to touch either of those revolvers, one day when my idle hands found nothing else to do, my curiosity got the better of me and I decided to take it apart to see how it worked. So down to the coal cellar where I wouldn’t be observed I went, with it and a screwdriver. I got the faceplate off without much trouble when suddenly something snapped and the insides sort of erupted. I had planned to take each part out carefully observing the order so there would be no trouble in assembling them again, but this scattering of parts all over the place was a tragedy. What a hopeless feeling! I tried frantically to fit parts in again but I couldn’t even get the side plate back. Now, what to do? I knew I was in for a good spanking. Disobedience did not set very well with “papa”. I thought of not putting it back and hiding it somewhere but knew it would be missed and lying would only make matters worse. With shame and trembling I sought out my mother and told her the whole sad story. She decided the only thing to do was to wait until my father came home from the office that night and make a clean breast of things. What a long fearsome afternoon that was! We children, Elsie and I, always rushed to the door with Mother for the homecoming kiss as soon as we heard his key in the lock, but my greeting that night somehow lacked enthusiasm. Perhaps because my mother interceded I escaped a spanking that time, or perhaps they decided I had learned my lesson, which I had. My parents did not believe in frequent or promiscuous spankings but we knew we would get one when we deserved, and then not a slap or two, but pants taken down in my case, and the back of a hairbrush vigorously applied enough times to create a healthy respect for the punishment. I recall one time I deserved it and so I reported to my father. I had done or said some minor thing which was wrong, in a fit of ill-nature, and was warned that if I did it again I’d get a spanking. Feeling ugly and defiant I deliberately did it again. Down came the britches, whack went the hairbrush, and I can remember the strange feeling of all the ugliness and ill-nature completely evaporating during the process. I knew I had deserved it and felt it had done me good. I often thought of this episode in bringing up my own children, and never since have agreed with those who think it is wrong to spank children under any circumstances. The old Bible admonition “Spare the rod and spoil the child” is still true.

What to Expect

I’ll be sharing stories, in no particular order, spanning almost 60 years. I hope you enjoy them and share your thoughts.

5 thoughts on “Have I Got Stories For You…..

  1. We were all spanked occasionally as children for major misdemeanours. It was fine and acceptable then. Personally I think example or isolation works better than physical retribution as all too often this becomes a demonstration of might is right, which is surely not what we wish the next generation to learn.

  2. Mrs. P says:

    Wow…congratualtions!!! That’s a lot of posts!

    I agree with your grandfather’s philosophy on discipline which is a far cry from child abuse. I think a lot of the problems we have with children these days is that the state has interfered so much with parental discipline that there is no respect for rules and regulations, thus the introduction of the, “I do what I want!” era. The pendulum has swung too far the other direction.

Leave a Reply

