Trumbull (3) – Car Registration in Alaska Questions And Christmas Presents – Dec., 1940

Page 3 of A-105

As to the questions about registration, at some convenient opportunity after the holiday rush is over, I shall try to get hold of Miss Jones in the Motor Vehicle office and ask if the best method is to take out temporary markers to be sent back from Seattle upon arrival, what complications pulling a trailer will cause, etc. By the way, what is the registration fee in Alaska, and what rulings, if any, do they have on trailers. I have not seen Arnold to talk to since his marriage and all I know about his intention to go to Alaska has been hearsay. If, when you wrote to him, you suggested he get in touch with me, and he has received the letter, he has not yet done anything about it. Dick, with his overtime at the Underwood, is getting about $20 a week so by the time comes for him to leave it is probable that he will have sufficient funds to do it comfortably.

DBG - Dan in Alaskan doorway-1940

Dear Dan:

What little news there is I have covered in the other pages so after telling you that I enjoyed your letter much, I shall dwell on the subject which right now is causing the most concern and that is the matter of Christmas gift transmittal to you boys. I have been expecting daily a letter from you or Ced which will give me some idea of what would be acceptable gifts and what you have ordered from the mail order houses, sizes, etc., so that I could be guided accordingly. What with the poor mail service this letter has probably been delayed and has thus far failed to reach me. By the same token, if transmittal from here to there is just as poor, I am wondering if you will receive by Christmas anything mailed now. Anyway, I have taken a chance and mailed to you and Ced each something and if I don’t hear from either of you tomorrow I shall take a further chance on sending something to Ced which may not be the right size but which he can send back to Sears Roebuck at Seattle to exchange for the right size and style, or if it is a duplicate of something he already has, he can exchange it for something entirely different. I am also sending each of you a special Christmas stocking with some jimcracks enclosed just to remind you of the past Christmases in the old home and remind you, if you need any reminder, that even though mountains and rivers and glaciers fill many of the miles between us, in spirit you are quite close. Just the same I shall miss you all very much – – more so on Christmas than any other day in the year.

Well it’s long past my bedtime because I have spent an hour or more trying to make the automatic stoker function. The pin that operates the worm gear that takes ashes out of the bottom of the furnace has sheared off and I have been trying to dislodge whatever it is inside that makes the worm gear bind. I have sheared off at least a dozen pins without success so I guess I shall have to shut the furnace down until the repair man can come and take the thing apart, if necessary, to remedy the difficulty.

So, good night to you all and continue the good work of sending your thoughts frequently back to headquarters.

DAD

Another letter from Grandpa to his sons in far off places will finish out the week.

On Saturday and Sunday, more Special Pictures.

On Monday I’ll start posting letters written in 1942. Lad is still in Venezuela and Dan and Ced have been in Alaska for quite a while.

Judy Guion

Leave a Reply

