Special Picture # 168 – Hiawatha By Longfellow

At our Guion Family Reunion a few weeks ago, my brother Greg brought with him from California a book that had once belonged to my mother, Marian Irwin Guion. It had been found among the books of Marian’s youngest brother, Don, after he had passed away. I wish you could feel the texture of the embossed leather cover, see the reflection of the gold in the flyleaf paper design and gold-leaf edge of this small volume.I had no idea this poem was so long – 245 pages – and then another 50 pages of Glossary, Notes and Appendix. I know I will enjoy reading it, knowing my mother also touched these pages.

MIG - Hiawatha by Longfellow - cover

MIG - Hiawatha by Longfellow - flyleaf

MIG - Hiawatha by Longfellow - chapter

4 thoughts on “Special Picture # 168 – Hiawatha By Longfellow

  1. Mrs. P says:

    That is a special treasure!

  2. Beautiful. I’m full of envy.

Leave a Reply

