Trumbull – Dear Triumvirate (2) – Financial Worries and Christmas Greetings – Dec., 1940

Trumbull House - Dave, Jean and Dick in deep snow, Feb., 1940

Dave, Jean and Dick (standing) on the front hill

Page 2 of R-108

Elsie went home on the 9 o’clock excursion train Christmas night and Aunt Betty next morning on the bus. Of course Aunt Betty is not the sort to worry but I think she is a bit concerned over her financial situation. She has been depending on her living expenses on the little income she receives from her investments in small part, and the bulk from installment payments supposed to be made to her monthly by the shop, in accordance with the terms of the sale of the business to Mrs. Burlinggame and Elsie. Unfortunately, however, the shop has not been going so well, in fact almost from the beginning they have been losing money and the last I heard Aunt Betty had been paid only up to September. I questioned Elsie about the future prospects but they do not seem to be any too bright and in order that Aunt Betty’s mind might be relieved a bit, I suggested that perhaps she might like to spend the summer here without cost to her and go back to a New York hotel for the winter. She had wanted to go to Florida for the winter this year but the uncertainty as to her own income detered her from that course. I would like very much to feel I could do something to help her because she has done so much for me and you children too. You remember she gave me $1000 when you boys were little to pay for your music lessons, she bought stock in my company to help me get started and for a while, just after mother died, and when she had it, she sent money regularly each month to help out with the bills. So, I hope she will let me make some return now that she needs it. We shall see.

I invited both Anne and Sylvia to spend Christmas with us but neither was able to do so. Anne went to New Rochelle I believe, while Sylvia wrote me a very nice note telling me that she had so many duties in connection with caring for her small charges during the holiday season that you couldn’t possibly leave but would try to pay us a visit sometime later.

Ced wrote me some time ago about an earthquake shock he had experienced that woke him up from a sound sleep. But me, I’m made of tougher stuff. I don’t wake during earthquakes. Twice during the last few weeks there have been earthquake shocks. I  talked to a young lady the other day living in Bridgeport who said she was awakened, felt her bed swaying and wondered if she had eaten something that made her dizzy, but when she heard the dishes raffle she decided it was an explosion of some sort. Many phoned the radio broadcasting station and the newspapers to ask if the Remington plant had had an explosion. I have not found anyone in Trumbull, however, who mentioned having felt it. It occurred about 2 AM.

Among the Christmas cards received was one from Roger Bachelder which, surprisingly, gave his address as Capt. Roger Batchelder, US Army Inf. Service, New York City, so presumably he is in circulation again in the kind of life that he always wanted most to be in. Also from the Burnham’s, who have moved back into the Larchmont Gardens section, just across Weaver Street, but in New Rochelle. Mildred and Stacy Kercher, Cecilia Mullins, and the Chandlers with the following: “Can’t somebody from dear old Trumbull barge in this winter?” Burr Davis and family, who have moved back to Mount Vernon, Ethel, Carl, Barbara and Jean. Nan and Stanley Osborne from Saratoga, our old friend Corinne Flaniken of Arlington, Texas, writes she is not teaching this winter and would like to hear news of the family as she gets lonely at times. The Ives sent over their usual box of Christmas cookies and Kemper had a basket of oranges sent up to us from Florida.

I’ll post the conclusion of this letter tomorrow.

On Saturday and Sunday, More Special Pictures.

On Monday I’ll begin posting a week of letters written in 1942. Dan has been drafted, Lad is expecting to go soon and Ced remains in Alaska, with defermentrs because of his job. Grandpa and the two younger boys remain in the Trumbull House as the War finally arrives in Trumbull.

Judy Guion

Leave a Reply

