Trumbull (2) – News From Rusty And Dan – Jan., 1941

Rusty wrote and asked me to send him his overcoat which he had stored here. I did so, and yesterday received the following letter: “Please excuse me for not thanking you sooner for the overcoat. I have been very busy since two weeks before Christmas – – not picture painting but sign painting, and a large sign in front of Packy’s warehouse which I have a few more days work on before it is finished. Thanks for the Christmas memories. I was too busy in the daytime and to all in at night to send a single card, but I’ll be seeing you soon, old scout – – sometime this month for certain, if we can be certain of anything in this cockeyed world. Today Anne and I locked up the house and I will be at Ingrid’s place for about a week. Then I will go down to Sydney, Britta and mother who flew down with Sydney (American Airlines) some four weeks ago. This was Ma’s third airplane trip this past year. It is much easier on her them the train and car and no doubt twice as safe (80 minutes from Boston to New York). Sure, I would like to go with Arnold but plan to go before April 1st if possible. What do you hear from Ced and Danny? Well, don’t bother to answer. We’ll be seeing you all soon, but I don’t think I will be able to stop over on my way down as I will be packing a lot of stuff.”

Your interesting letter, with money order enclosed, duly received, Dan. I enjoyed your description of the bumpy reception of the blanket and the little dog who attacked you on the last lap of your ski slide – – sort of a lap dog, as it were. I will keep my eyes open for the “drilled” watch and will see that it is properly repaired. What became of the watch I gave you? It was supposed to be a good piece of mechanism. Was Venezuela too much for it? To come back to my slippers, Ced, please tell me what Indians made them, what kind of leather they are and what for was used as the trimming. Barbara was in a few minutes ago and showed me the mukluks. Thanks, Lad, for your letter. While it was short it did let me know you were okay and I appreciate your thoughtfulness. Do you think it advisable to write SV (Socony-Vacuum) home office in New York telling them that you are coming home in June and would like to know what they could offer you in the way of a job on one of their diesel tankers, or other work in connection with diesel repair in their yards or shops, in connection with renewal of your contract with them? Many have asked what your plans are and how long you intend to be home.

DAD

Grandpa, quite often, sent clippings and enclosures with his letters. Whenever he came across a piece of advice that he thoughht might be of help to his sons, he included it with his letters. This is one of those “words of wisdom”

ADG - What We Can Control - enclosed with letter of 1.5.1941

What We Can Control

HOW WE DO WORRY about things we can’t control,

such as floods, thunderstorms and war in Europe.

Just for a change why don’t we do something about

the things we can control. For example, some of us can

lengthen his span of life, perhaps, beyond the hand of

destiny, but we can control its width and depth. Nor is

it given us to control the contour of our countenance,

but we can control its expression – we can smile instead

of frown. We cannot alter the distance of our heads

above the ground but we can control the heights of their

contents – we can think high thoughts. We have no

control over the weather, but we can control the moral

atmosphere that surrounds us. We cannot control the

other fellows annoying habits, but we can do something

about our own.

If we all controlled what we can control this would

be a better world in every way.

An ounce of enterprise is worth

a pound of privilege.

…Marvin

Tomorrow, a letter to Dan from a friend he knew in Venezuela. Thursday, a letter to Lad from Trumbull friends, and on Friday, a letter to Lad from his employer and another one from a co-worker in Venezuela.

Judy Guion

2 thoughts on “Trumbull (2) – News From Rusty And Dan – Jan., 1941

  1. Mrs. P says:

    Love dad’s words of wisdom. It is very appropriate to today’s climate.

Leave a Reply

