Trumbull – Dear Trumbull Exports (2) – More About The Car – Jan., 1941

Page 2 of R-110      1/12/41

He did say he had his doubts whether you could get a ‘38 Buick in good condition for $400, Ced and car - 1940 (3)-head shotbut asked why you wouldn’t be satisfied with a ‘37 model in view of the fact that it was the very same motor in each car, the only difference being in the body. I told him to let me know what he could find and we would go into the matter further. Meantime, I am hoping to get a reply to my letter and Dick’s regarding the postponement of sailing date, as if it were until later in the year, then I will know whether to get Arnold busy also in trying to locate a real value. He has not made any attempt, as far as I know, in trying to get hold of me to talk the matter over in any detail, which naturally causes one to wonder if there is a lack of interest. Did you write to him? Has he written to you?

Regarding insurance rates, you can insure a car for any period of time from one month to 12, on the following basis: for one month 20% of annual rate; 3 months, 40%; 6 months,DBG - Dan (cropped) fron Ced, Dan and car - 1941
70%. On 1938 cars, coverage for fire, theft and collision, liability and property damage 15/30 and 5, for cars list price of which is $668 to $750, the premium is $49.44 annually; $785-$880, $51.44 and Packard, $1020-$1070, $53.44. These figures were given to me over the phone so they may not be accurate in all details but at least they will give you an estimating basis. No extra charge for private trailer.

On registration, while I have made no inquiries from Miss Jones, I should think the simplest method would be to take out temporary markers and figure on one renewal with the understanding that Dick, upon reaching Seattle, would remove the plates and send them back; you, in the meantime, making arrangements to take out permanent markers in Alaska when it gets to its intended destination. Otherwise, there would be considerable delay certainly in correspondence back and forth and in shipping the plates with the uncertainty as to what reciprocal privileges might be allowed Alaskan markers, rules regarding trailers, etc. The mail and transportation facilities to your burg seem to be in a bad state of disruption, particularly from the states to Alaska. Read’s shipped Dan’s blanket and your field glassrs on December 1st, and, as near as I can determine, they arrived at Anchorage on December 19th, which was not bad, but other packages, sent a week to ten days later, had not reached you on December 30th. This surely indicates some congestion somewhere along the line which, I expect, would be from Seattle north, as even the stuff ordered shipped from Sears Roebuck in Seattle had not reached you. Your letter, by the way, written December 30th and received January 6th, which would indicate service south and east is not bad, however, I expect a letter from you or Dan tomorrow which may inform me that the long expected packages have arrived. Gosh, I meant them for your Christmas in 1940 not 1941.

I am glad the Christmas dinner last minute adjustment came off satisfactorily. The copy of the Christmas cantata program must have evaporated en route as it was not enclosed. I looked under the postage stamp for it even, but no dice.

Almost everyone I see asks how many degrees below zero it is up there, and I have been telling them that I don’t believe, from what you have written, that the climate in Anchorage is very much colder than it is here. You better put me right on this point as it is almost a universal question when you boys are mentioned.

Have heard nothing more from Rusty, which is not surprising as he is likely to put in an appearance, unannounced, at any time, according to his last letter.

Things are going along just about the same. Last few days have been clear and cold. There is skating.       DAD

Tomorrow, I’ll post a letter to Lad, in Venezuela, from a friend back home. On Thursday, a letter to Ced from a friend in Trumbull. I’ll finish the week with another letter from Grandpa.

Judy Guion

2 thoughts on “Trumbull – Dear Trumbull Exports (2) – More About The Car – Jan., 1941

  1. Mustang says:

    After the war, my father had a 1952 Desoto; the finest car I ever saw and I vowed to one day have a car such as that. Well, Desoto went kaput. There just is no justice in the world today.

Leave a Reply

