Trumbull – Lad Is In The Army (2) – May, 1942

page 2     5/10/42

It’s too bad you boys can’t claim exemption on account of paralysis of your writing fingers. As far as I know secondhand, Dan is too busy planting flowers to write, no word having come from him this week. This could be born with more fortitude if the phone had run last night and a voice said, “this is your son, Dan, at the Bridgeport railroad station”. I must say he is impartial in his neglect as Barbara is considerably burned up about her inability to get letters also.

I did get a postal from a Mrs. Beckwith of Roanoke Rapids, who very kindly wrote what she calls a “keeping -in-touch” card to me telling me she had met Dan, was inviting him to supper and had a son of her own about his age in the Army.

Ced @ 1945          And I seem to have lost my pulling power with you, too, Ced, for in spite of my splendid example of invariably writing to you backsliders once a week, come hell or high water, I can’t seem to get either of you on a weekly schedule. I hope Lad will do better because it will be pretty tough having three boys away and not hearing from any of them regularly. I know it’s tough to have so exacting a father, but that also you can blame on the war. Maybe I’ll stop writing for a month or so and wait for you to ask some questions. It’s too easy having home news sent to you without any effort once a week. Maybe you wouldn’t mind it so much at that, and then where would I be?

And speaking of asking questions, Dick was asking today if Ced wouldn’t write him what the labor situation was at present at the airbase, if they still needed men and was still paying the same salaries. From a few remarks he has dropped I surmise jobs and salaries here do not compare favorably with his Alaskan experience. In your next (?) letter home, Ced, tell us a bit about how you are getting along with your flying, which you haven’t mentioned for months. Was your boss successful in getting a deferment for you? Have you filled out your questionnaire yet?

This week I managed to get three packages off to you which I hope will arrive in time for your birthday. Two of them are from Read’s — not much but just to let you know you are not forgotten. I also sent direct a box of miscellaneous junk. A couple of small items will gladden Rusty’s heart when he is confronted with an overdone batch of apricots cooking on the stove all night. Be sure to let me know when they arrive so I can put in claims for them if they are lost in transit.

Among news briefs are these: A new gray line bus now runs to Trumbull, up Reservoir Avenue, as far as Ray King’s place just beyond the Merritt Parkway. Wardens have a washing machine, his present to her for Mother’s Day. Next month she has to go to the hospital for a minor operation.

Blog - Lilac Bush

Speaking of Mother’s Day (today) Aunt Betty thoughtfully arranged a bunch of lilacs (which are now in bloom) on the dinner table today in memory of your mother. Yesterday at the Town Hall I united a couple in matrimony. Lad is trying to sell his car. He is trying to get $750 for it. He paid $900. On account of tire and gas rationing the market is none too good. If he can’t get $700 for it he will store it for the duration.

The following letter from Grandma: “I have been on the half and half sick list since February 16th. The first two weeks Dorothy had to stay out of school to care for me. It made it pretty hard for her because she wanted to keep up with her studies along with doing the housework. I am feeling much better. My heart was quite bad for a while. You may be surprised to know we are both staying at Kemper’s, who have moved into this lovely large house which they are renting. They are renting their own house. Last Sunday Kemper and Ethel left for Vermont to be gone until next Tuesday. I would like very much to make you a visit and enjoy the lilacs but it may be some time yet before I can and by then the lilacs will be gone. What an experience Ced is having.”

Tomorrow and Thursday, the first half of another letter from Grandpa. On Friday, Lad’s induction in his own words.

Special Pictures on Saturday and Sunday.

Judy Guion 

4 thoughts on “Trumbull – Lad Is In The Army (2) – May, 1942

  1. Janet says:

    My sister Ruth wrote to my brother almost every day while he was away from home during the War 1942-1945. Needless to say he did not write so often.

    • jaggh53163 says:

      Janet – Mail Call was the height of the day. Those letters meant the world to him. I’m sure your parents felt the same way Grandpa did – he wanted to hear from them more often. It must have been especially hard when those back home didn’t receive word from their loved ones for weeks on end. I know Grandpa worried “in the dark reaches of the night”.

  2. jaggh53163 says:

    Mustang, The saddest thing to me is that so many people choose to turn a blind eye to all behavior in the name of “freedom”. Money and Power have become gods. They have twisted the true meaning to the point where everything is allowed, just don’t get caught (and if you do, find a scapegoat). They have forgotten that there is true EVIL in the world and if we are going to save America as we knew it growing up, we must look to the light and condemn the dark side.

  3. Mustang says:

    What comes to my mind now is how Mom & Dad worked hard to keep the family together; the soft admonishment of not writing geared to keeping one connected to the other. This was so admirable in “our day,” but as the song tells us, “The times, they are a changing.” Today, less than 20% of families in America take their evening meal together. Fewer still offer grace before meals. Perhaps this is simply a matter of my age, but I find this profoundly sad for our country and for what it means to be an American. But well … who knew 50 years ago that Boy Scouts and Girl Scouts would be recruitment centers for homo (deviant) sexuals

Leave a Reply

