Trumbull – Dear Correspondents (2) – News From Dorothy And A Baby Blizzard – Feb., 1945

Page 2    2/11/1945

Well, I’ll tell you Dave, if the post office is open tomorrow (Lincoln’s birthday here, you know) I’ll get a package off to you. If, when you receive it, you find some of the things are wrapped in Christmas paper, don’t think I am losing my mind. The fact is that before I knew for sure you were coming home for Christmas, I began assembling some things to send to you, just in case. And the other day I had an idea you might like to get it anyway, whereever you are when it finally catches up to you, so here it goes. And Dan, there is also another package being wafted on its way to you containing some of the things you asked for and also a couple of toilet articles dear to a girl’s heart which you may want to present to Paulette. I had previously sent your shoes.

Ced, old Bean, don’t forget to let me know how the draft business comes out. Maybe there will be a letter tomorrow or sometime this week from you on the subject. And a couple of week hence I expect I’ll have some snapshots of the girls to send just for variety. They have been suffering from an attack of cameraistis lately and old Eastman has been working overtime trying to keep up with them.

Dorothy writes from Los Angeles: The trip out here was really glorious. I’ve seen pictures of our mountainous west, but to actually be near enough to almost touch them, to see the panorama of endless Mountains – – miles and miles and miles of them – – not for just a few hours but for whole days – – it was the most majestic and awe inspiring sight I have ever seen. The desert was fascinating too and very weird. Altogether I found the trip very lovely. So far the weather has been fine although it’s supposed to be the rainy season. Imagine my surprise when I woke up the first morning I was here to find three enormous poinsettias and a Calla Lily peeping over my window ledge.

Trumbull House in winter - (cropped) - 1940

Early this week we had a baby blizzard here. Snow on the driveway drifted knee-deep and transportation was pretty much crippled – – so much so the first day that there was no school although the buses ran to and from Bridgeport and both Marian and I drove our cars, leaving them, of course, at the bottom of the driveway. However, this was followed by a couple of days of really mild weather which has done much to reduce the size of the drifts. Our new tenants have not moved in yet. They brought a few of their belongings but said their car had broken down. They could not have driven up to the house anyway, as before mentioned.

Today I had to go to Bridgeport to join in wedlock to young things, the man, in the Navy, having to go back to duty tomorrow. His “best man” said: “Didn’t you have a son that went to Connecticut State College? I thought I recognized the name. Well, I used to drive back and forth with him occasionally. Didn’t he have an old Plymouth? When you write, mention Henry Beigert to hear. I’m now in the Air Force stationed at Mitchell Field.

Tomorrow, being Lincoln’s birthday, I have to relate an anecdote. As you know he married into the rather snooty Todd family. Someone asked Lincoln whether they spelled their name with one d or two. He said one d was good enough for God but they had to have two. I’d like two letters myself.

DAD

Tomorrow and Sunday, I’ll have Special Pictures for you.

On Monday, I’ll begin posting letters from the spring of 1941. Lad is looking forward to coming home from Venezuela in May. Dick is getting excited about his trip across the country and north to Alaska to deliver a car to Dan and Ced.

Why not share this blog with a friend or two. They might really appreciate it.

Judy Guion

Leave a Reply

