Special Picture # 238 – Lad’s Army Uniform


I’ve decided to finish out the week with a few more special pictures. These are pictures of Lad’s uniform jacket and his hat. I’m going to try to find out what each insignia means.

APG - Lad's Army Uniform jacket - front view

Front view

APG - Lad's Army uniform jacket - right sleeve

Detail of right sleeve

APG - Lad's Army uniform - rank on right sleeve

Rank on lower right sleeve

APG - Lad's Army Uniform jacket - right front

Detail of right front

APG - Lad's Army uniform - left front

Detail of left front

APG - Lad's Army uniform - left sleeve

Detail of left sleeve

APG - Lad's Army uniform - both shoulders

Detail of both shoulders

APG - Lad's Army hat

Lad’s Army hat

APG - Lad's Army hat - close-up of insignia on front

Detail of insignia of hat

APG - Lad's Army hat - close-up of buttons onsides and uniform

Detail of buttons on cap and jacket

On Monday, I’ll begin a week of letters written in 1942. Both Dan and Lad are in the Army. Ced is still working in Alaska and Dick and Dave are home with Grandpa.

Next weekend, and every weekend following, I’ll begin at the beginning. Many of you were not following my Blog over three years ago when I began publishing the Guion Family Saga, or as I call it, A Slice of Life. My grandfather, Alfred Duryee Guion, wrote his Reminiscences while traveling “around the world” on a freighter. He had quite a bit of time to remember bits and pieces of his life and decided to write them down for posterity, and his grandchildren. After he is married and starts a family, I will include the childhood memories of his children which I recorded.

I believe this will give you a chance to get to know the man I called “Grandpa” and the author of many of the letters you have been reading. I hope you enjoy the beginning of the Guion Family Saga.

Judy Guion

4 thoughts on “Special Picture # 238 – Lad’s Army Uniform

  1. Mrs. P says:

    Love this post and all it’s detail.

    Over the New Year’s weekend, going through boxes of stuff we found a special box with my grandfathers WWI pins. 😀 😀

  2. My gosh, there’s a heck of a lot of detail on an army uniform. I’d never really thought about that.

    • jaggh53163 says:

      Hilary,
      I have a few ideas of where to find out what each means. I went online and found dozens and dozens of insignia for Ordnance, but didn’t see any of these. Maybe they have changed over the years. This might take me a while but I’m going to try. 🙂

Leave a Reply

