Trumbull – Dear Gang (3) – Responses From The Editor – Feb., 1945

ADG - Grandpa about 1945 or 1946 near a tree in winter

Page 3    2/18/45

With that of my chest, let’s go back and make some comments on the letters that have been received, as I quoted in part I.

Shutting my eyes, Dave, to the danger which always lurks for me to go to fighting areas,  I can nevertheless get quite a thrill over the adventure of a trip across the mighty Pacific to new and strange lands famous in story and with a far longer history than we on this continent enjoy. Things seem to be shaping up so well from a military standpoint in Asia that I am hoping it will be over even in the Atlantic theater sooner than any of us had reason to hope for a few months ago. Maybe this is wishful thinking, but it is possible. There is one thing that I might say to all of you. I keep grinding out these weekly letters. You more or less take it for granted that I know you get them, but as references made occasionally, by those of you who write, to anything said in them, I can’t be sure they reach you regularly, and therefore I cannot take measures to correct the mode of mailing to assure more certain delivery. The girls write airmail, I by regular mail. V-mail is possible but impractical unless absolutely necessary. It precludes any clippings, photos or other enclosures, would cut down length (which might be a good thing?) Although of course you married ones, whose wives write to you most faithfully daily of the daily news, might not object to this latter feature. I just want to know whether they are getting through. But to get back to Dave. With all this and in spite of what I have just said, I am sending you a V-mail letter today so that you can compare the delivery time between that and this.

Dan-uniform (2)

And now we come to Dan. To say we are all thrilled here at this great news about the possibility of our having a little French daughter in the family, is not beginning to do the fact justice. The girls are just as excited as I am, and if we had a reason for wanting the war over sooner, it is doubly true now. Already Paulette has carved a great big place out of our hearts, and the best thing you can do to match the photos I am having printed now to send you is to match it with a picture of her and any that can be spared of her family. Please write us more about her and tell her the warmest kind of welcome awaits her in Trumbull – – that this in fact is actually her American home. I don’t suppose she knows English any better than I do French so it would be idle to write her, but you be my interpreter and the stronger you put it the truer it will be that she could never be more welcome anywhere than right here in this part of the U.S.A. I am enclosing some envelopes with Venezuelan stamps on them I happen to have handy for Brother and with the next package I will try to send over a bunch of American stamps.

Ced and car - 1940 (3)-head shot

Ced, old thing, you haven’t answered a question I asked some time ago, re: Rusty’s address. I want to send him a “Christmas” box and don’t know how to send it or what address to use, so please instruct me. I also assume no news is good news on your draft status. You didn’t mention it so it cannot be taking too important a place in your mind. You know, and I don’t know after you get through reading this whether you will feel more gratified than insulted, that I am continually surprised at the writing ability you show. For instance, before I read your P.S. telling me the enclosed articles appearing in THIS WEEK were written by you, I read them through and as I did so, I said to myself, “Ced has evidently persuaded some of his friends on the local paper with a flair for writing to prepare these excellent articles for publication, because they’re too good for an amateur to concoct, and then I find you wrote them yourself. Of course we expect something exceptional from Dan, but Lad, Dick, Dave and yourself have each surprised me from time to time by your descriptive powers and ability to write interesting letters. (Of course this is an obvious opportunity to remark that it is too bad you don’t exercise this facility more often, but I’ll be forbearing and skip it). As to Alaskan climate, first thing you know, after the war is over and young Dave takes over the business, you might be surprised to see me walk in on you someday.

RPG - Dick in uniform - 1945

Dick, thanks ever so much, old skate, for the photo. I like it. Also the cigars which are also very much appreciated. There is an advantage of having Christmas string out. Anyway, its still Christmas weather here.

Love to you all.    DAD

Tomorrow, another letter from Grandpa and then a letter from Lad.

This weekend, and every weekend following, I’ll begin at the beginning. Many of you were not following my Blog over three years ago when I began publishing the Guion Family Saga, or as I call it, A Slice of Life. My grandfather, Alfred Duryee Guion, wrote his Reminiscences while traveling “around the world” on a freighter. He had quite a bit of time to remember bits and pieces of his life and decided to write them down for posterity, and his grandchildren. After he is married and starts a family, I will include the childhood memories of his children, which I recorded.

I believe this will give you a chance to get to know the man I called “Grandpa” and the author of many of the letters you have been reading. I hope you enjoy the beginning of the Guion Family Saga.

Judy Guion

Leave a Reply

