Trumbull – Dear Boys (2) – Questions About The Car And A Cartoon

This is the second half of the letter I posted yesterday. Grandpa tends to write long letters.

Dear Ced:

Dan, Ced and car - 1940Yours written on January 20 arrived February 4 in his usual was interesting reading. Hope your visit to the maternity ward of the hospital was not intended as a hint that you are again in an “interesting condition”. I shall have to check up with Dan on this point as he was the one who previously supplied me with details. Perhaps amazingly modesty on your part has delayed the sending of your diary which would supply possibly some of the details of your adventures since you left the paternal roof.

Now a few questions about the car. How long before sailing time would be wise for Dick to count on arriving at Seattle? Does he have to drain out the gas after driving it onto the dock under its own power? Does it have to be crated? When it arrives at Seward, if that is where Burger’s Boats land, will it have to be shipped by train to Anchorage or is there a road from Seward to Anchorage? That Alaskan railway book is very interesting. I would strongly urge you to obtain another copy (they do not seem to be available here) and send it to Dr. Andras E. Laszlo, Mill Hill Road, Southport, Conn., as he is intending to come to Anchorage and promises to look you boys up. The book, I notice, contains some facts he would probably be interested in knowing regarding big game hunting grounds.

“Know Your Own Car” series, Chapter 1

Negative –  You have to slam doors hard to close them

Horn button does not readily respond to touch

Positive –   Starts instantly at the touch of the starter, even being in the coldest weather

after being in the barn all night. It is even better than my little Willis which

was the best car I ever had in this respect.

Well, dear Draft Termites, that was quite a blast from the bleak Alaskan tundras contained in your last letter. I hope from a financial standpoint, you may not be called for service, but I can imagine many things from other angles that may have advantages. Don’t let you strong feelings warp your good judgment. Preparedness for defense if attacked is not at all the same thing is training to aggressively make war on the other fellow. At present we are in the former stage only, and from what Churchill said today we are not apt to go further unless Hitler licks England and the Germans come over here.

DAD
ADG - Side Glances - Missed my son....snow.

“I missed my son, all right, when he went off to college, but I didn’t realize how much until this snow came.”

Tomorrow I’ll post a letter from Aunt Betty (Duryee, Grandpa’s mother’s sister) to Lad telling him about a fantastic birthday party she went to and the work she is doing for the British war effort.

This weekend, and every weekend following, I’ll begin at the beginning. Many of you were not following my Blog over three years ago when I began publishing the Guion Family Saga, or as I call it, A Slice of Life. My grandfather, Alfred Duryee Guion, wrote his Reminiscences while traveling “around the world” on a freighter. He had quite a bit of time to remember bits and pieces of his life and decided to write them down for posterity, and his grandchildren. After he is married and starts a family, I will include the childhood memories of his children, which I recorded.

I believe this will give you a chance to get to know the man I called “Grandpa” and the author of many of the letters you have been reading. I hope you enjoy the beginning of the Guion Family Saga. 

Judy Guion

Leave a Reply

