Friends – Chandler Chorus Valentine Message To Ced (1) – Feb., 1941

The Chandler Chorus (Chandler Choral Society) was a group started by the Minister, Rev. Chandler, at our church, the Trumbull Congregational Church. They were invited to sing at various functions in the area and even performed for a local radio show in Bridgeport. My Uncle Ced and Uncle Dan were probable members before they moved to Alaska. I believe my Dad, Lad, and Dave were also members at various times. Many of Lad’s friends were also in the Chandler Chorus and I have pictures my Dad took when I was a very young girl of at least one picnic we went to, but we probably went to several. This is a Valentine Card sent to Ced and Dan while they were in Alaska during February of 1941.

CDG - Valentine Card envelope from Chandler Chorus - Feb., 1941 - front

CDG - Valentine Card Envelope from Chandler Chorus - Feb., 1941 - back

CDG - Valentine Card from the Chandler Chorus - Feb., 1941 - front

CDG - Valentine Card from the Chandler Chorus - Feb., 1941 - inside left

CDG - Valentine Card from the Chandler Chorus - Feb., 1941 - inside right

CDG - Valentine Card from the Chandler Chorus - Feb., 1941 - inside right

CDG - Valentine Card from the Chandler Chorus - Feb., 1941 - back

 

 

This is a list of members who signed the card, to the best of my memory and handwriting expertise.

Violetta H. Miller, Louise E. Case, Bess Hitchcock, A E Hughes, Belle Traphagen, H.G. Angell, Miriam Hughes, George Reichardt, Augusta Reichardt, Maritia J. Jennings, Ruth Lindsley, Matilda B. Lindsley, Herbert and Helen Searles,

Dear Boys- The above signatures have been written by members present at one of our rehearsals who send their best wishes. The rest of the Chandler Chorus would like to be remembered and we would all like to hear from you.

Matilda B. Lindsley

Tomorrow I’ll be posting all the notes from various members that were included in the card.

On Friday, a letter from Aunt Betty to Lad in Venezuela about some of her activities in New York City.

This weekend and every weekend following, I’ll begin at the beginning. Many of you were not following my Blog over three years ago when I began publishing the Guion Family Saga, or as I call it, A Slice of Life. My grandfather, Alfred Duryee Guion, wrote his Reminiscences while traveling “around the world” on a freighter. He had quite a bit of time to remember bits and pieces of his life and decided to write them down for posterity, and his grandchildren. After he is married and starts a family, I will include the childhood memories of his children, which I recorded.

I believe this will give you a chance to get to know the man I called “Grandpa” and the author of many of the letters you have been reading. I hope you enjoy the beginning of the Guion Family Saga.

Judy Guion

2 thoughts on “Friends – Chandler Chorus Valentine Message To Ced (1) – Feb., 1941

  1. Mrs. P says:

    Three cents for postage!!!!

Leave a Reply

