Trumbull – Lad Missed The Bus Entirely – Feb., 1941

ADG - Grandpa about 1945 or 1946 near a tree in winter

R-117   Trumbull, Conn.,  Feb. 22, 1941

To the several members

of the

Trumbull Expeditionary Force

GREETINGS:

Today, as you will observe, is Birthington’s Washday.  It is Saturday and my office has taken a holiday to show the right “I am an American” spirit. The habitues that still frequent the old haunts erstwhile yclept “Babbling Brook”, have been busy all day engaged in such menial tasks as dusting, cleaning silver, washing floors, sweeping, etc., in order to get the house in proper condition for the expected visit tomorrow of some old friends named the Burnham’s in the person of father Rufus, mother Louise and sons David and Bradford, who plan to partake of a Guion Sunday dinner. After dinner the two old cronies will get together for a heart-to-heart business talk in which Guion will attempt to inform Burnham what the possibilities are for the latter to start a letter shop business in Florida. This schedule, as you can readily appreciate, will completely warp the standard Sunday afternoon schedule, which, come flood or high water, is invariably devoted to foreign correspondence, hence, looking forward to such a contingency I am taking time by the “fetlock” and writing Saturday evening instead. So much by way of explanation.

Ced Guion

Ced Guion

Ced gets the Legion of Honor medal this week. His letter score is 200%. My old Danny boy also came across, but Lad missed the bus entirely. Ced’s letter started on January 31st, completed on the 3rd and post marked the 5th, received here the 17th, starts with a spirited defense against my occasional flings at delay in receipt of letters from you boys. I am forced to the conclusion that a large part of the trouble is attributable to the poor mail service particularly on the Alaska end. As you know, even when laid up in bed as has happened on a couple of instances in the past, I religiously make it a point to write to you Sunday afternoon. These letters are just as certainly mailed Monday morning and if you don’t get your weekly letter regularly, it means either that I am completely non-compus mentis or the mail service is on the bum. It is because I cannot count on such exact regularity that I am not always sure the mail is at fault when more than a week passes without word from you. I do hope the airmail service will soon be improved because it ought not to take more than two weeks en route for an airmail letter.

And that brings me to the matter of the news regarding the car purchase. In Ced’s letter of February 7th (received here 2/20) he mentions receiving a letter from Arnold mentioning trying out a Buick. That is the Buick I bought. I closed the deal the day following the trial run referred to Jan. 29th, and the Sunday following, Feb. 2nd, I wrote you a full account of the transaction. Either Arnold wrote within a day of the time we tried out the car or my letter to you was delayed in transit. However I hope you now know the worst. I was quite pleased to get Ced’s letter a couple of weeks ago after I had bought the Buick saying he would place first on the list a 1937 Buick. Ced speaks about a canvas cover. I went to Sears Roebuck and looked up samples of the various weight of canvas on the many different types they list, and finally decided on one that seems to be a good deal tougher than the cheap ones but not so heavy as the most expensive ones.

Tomorrow, I’ll finish this letter with the news of the car Grandpa finally settled upon.

On Saturday and Sunday, I’ll continue posting the early days of Grandpa and what life was like over 100 years ago. This is truly a “Slice of Life.”

Why not share it with a friend or two. They might be quite interested.

Judy Guion

Leave a Reply

