Army Life – Lad Drives A Tank – Aug., 1942

APG - Aberdeen Proving Grounds insignia

Aug. 12, 1942

Dear Dad: –

Got back to Aberdeen with no mishaps except that I had to walk from the station to Camp. There were so many men desiring to get into Camp that I thought it advisable to rely on me instead of taxis and I’m glad I did. Some of the fellows didn’t get back here until after 5:30, A. M.

Monday passed as usual, but yesterday, after supper, I went back to the shops and applied for extra training. So last night I learned to drive a light tank. Sometime in the future I’ll be given instruction in operating a medium tank and also, half-track vehicles, very heavy wreckers, and tractors. I will be given a license to drive whatever of these vehicles I proved to be successful in operating, which is a start in obtaining a license for the operation of all Army vehicles.

A tank is a cross between a car and a tractor in its operation. The clutch and throttle, as in a car are foot operated. In a tractor they are both hand operated as well as the steering. Steering a tank is done, as in the tractor, by hand brake levers. They ride quite well, and only on the real big holes or ditches, do they bump or rock badly. I really enjoyed it.

Lad

2 thoughts on “Army Life – Lad Drives A Tank – Aug., 1942

  1. colleen tomko says:

    My colleagues were requiring a form earlier today and located a document management site that has a lot of sample forms . If others are wanting it too , here’s http://goo.gl/j7Wkh4.

Leave a Reply

