Army Life – Lad Back in Aberdeen – Aug., 1942

 

APG - Lad to Dad - Aug. 29, 1934 (1942)

Aug. 29th, 1934

Dear Dad: –

Today is the 30th. I made a mistake in the above date. (He sure did, and he doesn’t even mention the year !!!)

Well, I got back to Camp last week very well. The train got into Aberdeen at 3:15 A.M., having made only one other stop, Wilmington. From Aberdeen to Camp is that Toonerville and it runs on the hour at that late hour, so I only had a 45 minute wait. I got into Camp a few minutes after 4:00 and had a couple of hours of sleep. On the train I had had about 3 so I felt O.K.

I went to a dance last night and had a wonderful time. The best I’ve had in Aberdeen. I slept today until noon and after lunch I washed clothes so now I do not have even one piece of dirty clothing.

For supper tonight, I’m going out and buy me a nice steak. I just feel in the mood for one.

News for last week has been very scarce. Don Frankenhauser has left for Mass. and from there he will be shipped across.

I heard again from Venezuela, and things have apparently changed a great deal. I really would like to go back there again.

Well, that’s about all I can think of so until next week –

Lad

Leave a Reply

