Trumbull – Dear Doggies (3) – Quotes From Lad And Sheer Optimism – April, 1945

APG - APG at D_____ ______  a_____, 25 June, 1945

Page 3    4/15/45

I guess I’m slipping, and will have to back water again. Maybe I can hide behind a technicality. There was no letter to be sure in P.O. Box 7 from Lad this week, but I was pleasantly surprised one day to find one from him waiting for me at the office, written Easter Sunday. “No letter from you again this week. Sometimes the mails are very slow. Yesterday one of the fellows in my room got a letter mailed Dec. 19th, — just a few days short of 4 months – – but then you consider the quantity of mail handled to and from the States I wonder that it makes such good time. And our Censors are doing a wonderful job over here too (now that’s what I call tact, Lad). It is very seldom that a letter isn’t mailed within 36 hours from the time it is written. Marian has only told me of one.

The past few days have been cloudy and wet, but the sun is trying to shine out bright and strong for this day of days. Seems to be having a little trouble though and now and then the clouds win the battle for a short time. It is still morning, so it may yet overcome all resistance. Hope so. I’ve been to the movies three times in the past week but didn’t see anything worth seeing. We’ve had quite a few mystery pictures lately but I don’t enjoy them too well. According to Marian, Ced, as usual, practically outdid himself in his Christmas Box. His ideas are always so practical, yet good, that it is truly a great pleasure to receive anything from him. Even his letters. Which reminds me, I should write to him. Plans to see Dan or the other fellows in Paris are no more mature than they were last time I wrote, but I’m still hoping. Interesting news items of the past week are nil and therefore I don’t have much to write about. Give my love to Aunt Betty and Jean and remember me to anyone so interested. I’ll take care of Marian’s interest, I hope. Lots of love, luck and good health, Dad. An Easter wish to you all – – on paper that is. I thought it many times this morning. LAD

It’s so good to be hearing from you regularly, again, Lad. It makes more difference in the days contentment than you realize. The only sad thing about it is that it makes me want to do so much more for all you lads that I can do. You married ones are being supplied from time to time by your devoted wives with boxes containing what you ask for and perhaps some things that you don’t ask for and possibly even can’t use, so Dad is sort of frustrated in exhibiting any of the tokens of esteem he wants to express, but from the news we keep getting, it seems as if it couldn’t be too long now before the show is over and the day brought nearer when you march up the gangplank and set sail for home. Oh, boy, won’t that be some day! And it does look over here as though you boys will not need to worry much about the future. I suppose I’m just naturally optimistic, but it does seem that for several years we will have a period of great prosperity here in this country. That report from Ven. Pete. (Venezuela Petroleum) which Marian is sending you looks as though they might use a good man on diesel down there, if you’re interested, Lad. Meantime I don’t think it would do a bit of harm to drop those men you know a postcard now and then, just to let them know you are on the map and have not forgotten them.

To you, also, Dick and Ced and Dave, our thoughts turn your way more than you know. In fact each of you occupies a special place in the thoughts and affections of your…..

DAD

Tomorrow and Sunday, childhood memories of growing up in Trumbull form my Dad and his siblings.

Next week, I’ll be posting letters from 1941. Lad is getting closer to coming home after two and a half years in Venezuela and Dick has just arrived in Alaska, having driven a car to Seattle and shipped it and himself to Anchorage. He’ll be joining Dan and Ced there for a while.

Judy Guion 

Leave a Reply

