Army Life – Lad Comments on Grandpa’s Letters – April, 1945

APG - Letter from So. France - April 22, 1945

 Sunday

April 22, 1945

Rec’d 5/1

Cher Papa:-

Since I wrote last – three weeks ago – I’ve received six letters from you, Mar. 4, 11, 18, 25, and April 1 and 8. The last two, although stamped for regular mail, either made excellent time or came airmail. They took nine days each which is regular airmail time.

The only event which occurred during the three weeks was a trip I made, on pass, to Dijon where I visited a bomber-base and spent a couple of hours wandering around, really enjoying myself. One meal I ate while they’re in Dijon was at an Army operated restaurant called “G. I. Joe’s” and, although the food is the same as here, it was prepared very well, served on plates by French waitresses and was free. It was wonderful !!! Just recently our blackout restrictions were lifted and I spent most of the morning removing the paint from the windows. I did too good a job when I put it on, I guess.

I’m still enjoying the work at the plant and I’m in good health, having avoided the usual cold(s). Spring must be here. We were ordered to remove our stoves from our rooms, and we’ve really had far nicer weather than I had ever expected to have, very similar to Trumbull and vicinity.

So much for local news. Now for some comments on overseas home front news.

That letter from Dan starting  “she has given her consent. Her parents have ___”, is practically a history in itself, but far more interesting than the usual. What a time he had in trying to meet Mrs. D. B. Guion. And the photo of Paulette arrived in due time. She is a grand looking girl. I want, so much, to meet her. I’ve not written to her as yet but I surely intend to do so very soon.

The news from Stacy Kircher sounds good. He was hit quite hard, I guess, wasn’t he? The boys are both doing okay, too. I’m glad. I like the entire family quite well.

I really don’t mind your quoting my letters in your weekly manuscripts, but I do wish you would not make typographical mistakes. I had to read one sentence three times to find out just what I did say. You had me thinking for a moment that I was out of my mind when I wrote, but I realized in time it was a misquote. I often wonder at times if I’m not going out of the bounds of sanity, so please don’t help me along.

The new couple (+) in the apartment, sound like a very good investment. That’s fine. The place really needs some care.

Like the editor of a magazine or paper, when thousands of letters come in telling him about putting “ie” instead of “ei” in the word receive or some other mistake, misquote or miss information, you have probably been told that the correct words are “au revoir”. In fact, you probably knew it but started to make it one word instead of two and therefore the extra “r” after the “au”.

“Due to a persistent cold” or not, your letter of March 11 was certainly not affected. As always, it was well written and interesting.

This letter dealt almost entirely with requests taken from a letter from Dan with your comments concerning fulfillment following each request. There isn’t much I can say about it.

The deaths of L. B. Matthias and Robert Strobel are surprises. The first, in that he has continued to live so long and Bob – well it just is. I’m really very sorry to hear. He was a likable chap.

My birthday, as usual, came and went. Your letter was about two weeks late, but I knew you felt as you did (do) so that I didn’t feel the least bit hurt by not hearing from you. Marian sent me a box which I received a couple of days before your letter.

March 18, your little peek into the “present-future” or “future-present” I’m not quite clear on that point, was very, very interesting and made me smile ______ ___ _____, less the girls, that I can recall. It produced a wave of home-longing, which I promptly thrust aside. Not because I don’t want to think of things like that, but because of the dejection and hopelessness it always brings.

You asked Dan for some “get acquainted” information about Paulette. You forgot to mention, in the way of smoking, cigars. Aunt Betty might like to have that information.

If you receive no requests for the ring with the Guion coat of arms, I’m interested but possibly Ced or Dave might like it more than Dan or even Dick. As to ring size-?. I think 11, but that is purely a guess.

It is time for supper, Dad, and since there are numerous others I should write to this evening, including Aunt Dee, Ted & Helen, mom Erwin and Marian & Burr Davis, I think I better let this be the end of this letter. I shall answer the remaining of your letters in my next to you. I wrote to Dan this afternoon, too, but I still can give him no definite time as to when I can get up to Calais. – No. 8 Rue du Temple -if you’ve not gotten Paulette’s home address yet. Be careful, and we’ll all be seeing you before too long – it says here.

Love,

Laddie

Tomorrow, I’ll be posting more Early Memories of Trumbull, the recollections of some of Grandpa and Grandma’s children.

Next week, I’ll be posting letters written in 1941. Grandpa and Dave are looking forward to having Lad home from Venezuela and Dan and Ced are looking forward to having the car that Dick has delivered to them in Alaska. They probably are excited about seeing Dick also.

Judy Guion

Leave a Reply

