Friends – Barbara Writes to Ced – Sept., 1942

This letter was written by Barbara Plumb, Dan’s girlfriend, to Ced in Alaska. In the body of the letter, Barbara explains the timeline quite well. 

The round robin was posted on May 9, 10 and 14.

CDG - Barbara Plumb Writes to Ced - Sept., 1942 - front

CDG - Barbara Plumb Writes to Ced - Sept., 1942 - back

Notice seal on the end of the envelope, Examined By 13833

CDG - Barbara Plumb Writes to Ced - Sept., 1942 - l1st pageMonday – September 14

9:00 A M

Law offices –

Miller, Bent & Smith

(Note:

As you know, yesterday a round robin was written to you – but because of the numerous participants etc., I didn’t write a single word – so will have to write you a special edition or rather addition)

Dear Ced:

We certainly missed you at the birthday gathering yesterday – but the pictures helped out considerably, even though that bearded fellow doesn’t look much like Old Ced. But I like the beard – must try one myself some time. (Maybe I’d enjoy circus life.)

My occupational status is still the same – working, not too hard, for four very nice men.

I have had one weeks vacation – when Dan was home on furlough at the end of June and have another week coming. I’ll probably take it in another two or three weeks and visit Lancaster. If I have as nice a time as when I went to Roanoke Rapids, N.C., it will be O.K. Dan and I are going to see the ice show in NY too. I’ve been trying to get to see it for at least three years. I’ve been down twice for the express purpose of seeing it and both times something happened.

Doesn’t the time go fast though?! You’ve been in Alaska for over two years – Dan has been home one year, minus 2 weeks, – I’ve been out of high school for six years – Butch is nearly 3 – it doesn’t seem possible – I’ll be happy if the time continues to race, at least until the war is over – then I can go very slowly please.

I like your house a lot – especially the corner windows. I wish Dan and I lived right next door. I studied the picture of Anchorage which you sent and asked Dan “What’s this? – Where’s so-and-so?” Until now I feel that if I were dropped in front of the P.O., I could find you without asking directions. I want very much to see Alaska – someday – but that’s as far as plans can go just now.

I seem to have plenty to do always – in fact there are always two or three things “I’m going to do this week”, which I never get to – such as practicing piano exercises or reading – But all I do is knit and play bridge – go to choir rehearsal and church and just buzz around doing nothing much. Lately I’ve been going over to Bissie’s about once a week right after work and stay all night –

Well, as it’s almost 10 o’clock, and as I haven’t done anything in the line of work so far, I better close this and try to look busy anyway. Give my regards to Rusty. Judging from the picture, he’s looking younger than ever – Dan said – “He looks like a big kid!” – Almost 21.

As you can see, I enjoy your letters to your family, so that I really owe you a letter or two – I like to write when I get started – In fact, when I do get started I ramble on and on and don’t know when to stop – so, abruptly,

Love,

Barbara

P.S. Color of paper means absolutely nothing.

Tomorrow, I’ll post a letter from Grandpa, on Thursday, a letter from Lad and on Friday, another from Grandpa.

Judy Guion

2 thoughts on “Friends – Barbara Writes to Ced – Sept., 1942

  1. jaggh53163 says:

    Patty – Since Grandpa wrote a letter every Sunday evening and young people gathered at the house every Sunday evening, he used it as a way to take a break from trying to come up with interesting topics to write about. It also gave friends, who never get around to writing letters, the opportunity to keep in touch with their friends who were away from home. They were a win-win-win type of communication.

  2. Patty B says:

    I am amazed how popular “round robins” were. I never knew until recently, actually never knew about them until recently. Great way to stay in touch with multiple people and I hear was lots of fun. I

Leave a Reply

