Early Memories of Trumbull – Odds And Ends

Spring Island - low water at the Point and Bathtub RockLAD – Sometime around 1945, we were going to the Island and we stopped at the Heurlin’s house. During the conversation they mentioned that they would like to get rid of the island it was just costing them money and they weren’t using it. Dad was interested in it and found out that they owed about $300 in back taxes. Dad paid that and they gave him the deed to the Island.

BISS – When dad bought the Island from the Heurlin’s, I was married and had two children. I tried to talk Zeke into going up there. He wanted no part of it, he wasn’t interested. I figured it would be good for the kids, it would be a vacation and it wouldn’t cost more than food and supplies. But seek wouldn’t go. After five or six years, I finally convinced him to try it. Then I could never keep him away. Now, if only I could have gotten him to try traveling once. I’m sure it would’ve been the same way. Then I would’ve had my dream of traveling all over. I got the van, the mattress, the gas lantern and gas stove, and then we never went anywhere, no matter what I say. I figured when we retired, we’d just start out with no particular destination; we could bring his guns and his fishing gear. Anyplace we found a spot, if we liked it, we could spend two or three days there; if we didn’t like it, we could go to another place.

Spring Island - Transportation @ 1960s - Utility Barge, rowboat (Lad)

CED – The Barge was used to move the cook cabin. Your father (Lad) and some of his friends went to the mainland and bought a garage. They sawed it in half, put it on the barge and brought it to the Island. They made it into the kitchen shack.

DAVE – Later on, when my kids were young, when we went to the Island, I’d put a piece of plywood on the back seat and they would be there. I use to get going pretty fast, you know, up near Lebanon, New Hampshire, where nobody was around. I used to get up to about 80 miles an hour with the kids in the back. Of course, I was only thinking about the fact that there were no cars around. It never occurred to me that I might hit a deer or a moose.

DICK – When I was in Brazil, I road bareback on a small horse with a broad back, feeling very macho. There were five of us going up this gentle hill, hell-bent for leather. All of a sudden, I was standing on the ground. The horse had stepped into a hole and somersaulted under me. If I’d had a regular saddle, I’d have had my shoes in the stirrups.

Alfred Duryee Guion

Grandpa, Marian & Lad Guion, Jean & Dick Guion, Aunt Betty

One time, Lad was driving Marian, Jean and I back to Trumbull from the movies. The car in front of us pulled over and parked. The driver threw open the door, and Lad shouldn’t have missed it but he did. Then he started looking around and patting himself…. He said, “I had a cigarette..”

BISS – Dad was very determined to beat the Stock Market because it had done him in. He was out for revenge. He’d sit up there in his bedroom and follow the charts. He did a lot of investing on margin. He had an estate worth over $100,000 when he died, only 10 years after he got out of debt.

This ends the REMENINISCENCES Of Alfred Duryee Guion (And his Children).

Tomorrow I will begin a series,  published a few years ago, entitled A Tribute to Arla. This is the story of my Grandmother, Arla Mary Peabody Guion, her marriage to my Grandfather, memories about her from, her childten and her death, in 1933, probably from Cancer. Two segments will be published each weekend. Enjoy.

Judy Guion

3 thoughts on “Early Memories of Trumbull – Odds And Ends

  1. Evann says:

    Hi Judy! Tried to comment before but it might not have shown up – but I’m Dick’s younger granddaughter (Suzanne’s youngest) and I found your blog via some idle Googling of my grandfather today – very much enjoying it and wanted to thank you for putting in all this work!

  2. Evann Myhre says:

    Judy, this is wonderful. I’m the younger of Dick’s two grandchildren (Suzanne’s youngest), and found your blog while I was idly Googling today. Really enjoying it; thanks so much for putting in the work. Looking forward to more!

    • jaggh53163 says:

      Evann,
      I’m thrilled that you have found this. I hope you have gone back to “Tribute to Arla – 1, 2 and 3”. This is the early story of your great-grandparents. There is so much to tell that you can’t possibly read it all at once. I have three different story lines – 1941, 1942 and 1945. I started each story line almost three years ago beginning with January, 1939, when Lad and Dan went to Venezuela, the second beginning in June, 1940, when Dan and Ced headed for Alaska, the the third in January, 1943, when the Army sent Lad to California. There he met, courted and married my Mother in that year. Each story line had advanced forward to the place they are now. Weekends are devoted to something else, a special shorter story, like this one, which will end with the letters of condolence sent to Grandpa after the death of Arla, your great-grandmother, in 1933, after only twenty years of marriage.
      Please continue to comment. I’d love to know what surprises you, what you like, and any other thoughts you have. Good to hear from you. Judy

Leave a Reply

