A Tribute to Arla (3) – Little Lad Arrives – April, 1914

Alfred and Arla Guion have moved into an apartment in the Bronx after their honeymoon in Bermuda. Alfred purchased furniture from Gimbel Brothers and James McCreery and Company, as well as a musical instrument known as a Technola Player Piano from the Aeolian Company to furnish the apartment.

Gimbel Brothers - 1913

Gimbel Brothers – 1913

 

James McCreery and Company - 1913

James McCreery and Company – 1913              The Aeolian Company Player Piano - 1913

The Aeolian Company
Player Piano – 1913

One year later, Alfred Peabody joined the family. The following letters were received after this happy occasion.

Congratulations on the arrival of a son - 1914 J M Carr

The Park Hotel

Williamsport, Pennsylvania

4/1/1914

Dear Al,

I hope that everything is going along all right with you, and I have been waiting every day to hear that you have had your addition, and that your

wife is getting along in good shape. Things have not been any too good on the road but we are out after what we can get and I suppose I should notkick, as I am away ahead of last year, but then I have to be. I have had very little time home, in fact only a day now and then, for it keeps me on the go all the time trying to make good on what I have undertaken to do this year to earn my salary. This of all years, but I am sure of doing it, if in fact, not doing more, which will mean a little more for me. If it is possible I will do it. Hope you are making good headway with your people and I wish that you would call me up some day and take lunch with me. I will be home, I expect, on Monday and Tuesday and then I start away on a 4 to 5 weeks trip and expect to finish. Well, it here’s hoping that everything is all right and hope both will be well.

Your sincere friend,

J.M. Carr

Congratulations on the birth of a son - 1914 Josiah J. Hazem

Congratulations on the birth of a son – 1914
Josiah J. Hazem

                                                                                                                                                                                                         

John O. Powers Company

11 West 25th Street

New York

Advertising

April 21, 1914

Dear Guion,

Hurrah ! Hooray!!

I sincerely hope the “family” is getting on nicely.

It’s great to be a daddy.

Yours sincerely,

Josiah J. Hazen

Congratulations on the birth of a son - 1914 Aunt Anna

49 W. 94th

                                                                                 My Dear Nephew and Niece,                                                                                                                                                                                                    

My sincere congratulations for the birth of a son.

Hoping he will be a blessing to you both.

Sincerely,

Aunt Anna

April 16, 1914

On Saturday, July 23, I’ll be posting one more letter of congratulations from Alex Smith. It’s quite a long letter from a father to a “new” father, filled with thoughts and words of wisdom.

Tomorrow, I’ll begin posting letters from 1942. The first is from Lad, with a change of plans. During the rest of the week, I’ll be posting 3 more letters from Grandpa to his sons, both near and far from home.

Judy Guion

2 thoughts on “A Tribute to Arla (3) – Little Lad Arrives – April, 1914

  1. GP Cox says:

    Morning, Judy. Thought this site on fighting in Alaska might be of interest to you…
    http://www.floridabeachestotheberingsea.com/p/about-this-blog.html

Leave a Reply

