Trumbull – From GHGHF (3) – Lad’s Comments on Grandpa’s Letters – May, 1945

 

Trumbull House with tall grass in front

“Babbling Brook”

The Guion house in Trumbull

…. And now to your letters. March 25th. The first part of this one deals with one of my letters to you. Therefore, no comments. Then Dave’s letter. Apparently he didn’t go very far west on his first hop. His account of changing from a pollywog to a shellback is very interesting and educational. I’d like to cross the “line” too, sometime, but under different circumstances.

Then comes Dan and Paulette. That was really a very nice letter and raises Paulette in my already high estimation. I disagree, however, with your own viewpoint of what Paulette might gather or expect of Trumbull, and the actuality. And I believe I form my opinion without prejudice. Dad, Trumbull itself has something that is not visible until it can be seen. Something very lovely and attractive which is a combination of lots of things and exact duplication can’t be found anywhere else. I can now see what the Peabody’s and so many others saw that makes it such a lovely place. And that “ordinary, rather homely everyday individual well past the noon of life” is a rather incomplete picture of you (Note: the Editor blushes deeply at this point). “Beauty is only skin deep” and it is that which is below the skin – – the depth of a person, which makes one as he is. You, my dear Pop, could never be judged by what can be seen in the mirror. So, I still believe it would be hard to exaggerate Trumbull as a town and “Babbling Brook” as the Guion household. No, I’m sure Paulette would have no misgivings on those points. For the inhabitants, I can’t say very much, with certain exceptions. I wonder how you’re able to write such a lighthearted letter in view of conditions. You had a cold, the water heater had a leak in the furnace was out. All I can say is “that’s my Pop.”

April 1st. Not much to mention about Ced’s letter other than as usual, it is very interesting. And the box – – Wow! Some box!!! Think I told you I’d received Paulette’s photo and I like her. Dave’s letters are both good, and apparently were written before he hit Hawaii. He’s really getting to be a young man but it is hard to picture him. As I see him, he is about 12 or 13. (That was the age Dave was when Lad left for Venezuela, where he stayed for almost three years)  Gee, I’m glad Erwin is going to get a chance to come home. He was one of the few thousand boys who were caught unsuspecting. To me, Easter Sunday was no different from any other day. I went to work and quit at the same time as usual.

April 8th. It’s funny, but bringing up that little Spring housecleaning job produced quite a pang of homesickness. It’s odd to see what queer things remind one of his home and loved ones. Frequently they may have absolutely no material connection at all. Our speculations about us ann China are not cricket – – so no comments.

April 15th. For having no letters to quote, according to your first paragraph, you did very well with this one. Dan’s letter is most interesting and although I’m nowhere as near the front as Dan is, we still frequently see bombers flying north or eastward and later returning to their bases. Really it is quite a sight. So Benny Slawson has been decorated. I’m glad to hear that, but my gosh, doesn’t time fly. I still can’t believe that he is 25. And Harold Kircher – – at least he came through the sickness O.K. and received his commission. Did you make Hamden to see the wedding? Give him my regards if you see him before I do. As to hiding behind a technicality in forgetting my letter, your vindication is complete. As to expressing or “exhibiting any of the tokens of esteem” you so desire, just your weekly letters are entirely sufficient. Receipt of a box from home is more of a satisfaction of desires, as far as I am concerned, than a “token of esteem”. I know in my mind that you always desire to do something for me and just that knowledge, even without any action on your part, is all I ask for and need. A concrete example is unnecessary. But if you must do something, write your letters weekly and that should be and will suffice. I certainly don’t intend to let Ven. Pete (Venezuela Petroleum, a company that had asked Lad to contact them after he got home from Venezuela with the possibility of a job offer) or Socony (Socony-Vacuum, the company Lad worked for in the oil fields of Venezuela for 2 1/2 years) forget me until I know what I want, so I’m writing occasionally. Thanks. Give my love or regards to everyone and keep your fingers crossed, knock wood or anything else, and maybe we’ll all be home before too long (ingly). Lad”

Tomorrow, I’ll finish up Grandpa’s letter with his comments on Lad’s letter and the rest of the news from family and friends.

On Saturday and Sunday, I’ll be posting two more segments of the Tribute to Arla, Grandpa’s wife, who died much too soon.

Judy Guion

 

Leave a Reply

