Trumbull – Lad, Home at Last (2) – June, 1941

page 2    June 8, 1941

Lad - LAD bracelet in gold

Lad brought home with him some gold nuggets he got at the mine and some native made gold jewelry. He also brought a native bow and arrow for spearing fish. Dan probably knows how the latter works. There is a detectable barbed head on the long bamboo arrow, connected to the arrow with strong cord. This head comes off when it strikes the fish and the wood floats to indicate the position of the fish.

Lad plans to go down to New York to spend two or three days this week, interviewing officials at Socony-Vacuum, calling on Fairbanks Morse with relation to a possible job, doing some shopping for Pariaguan people and seeing off some others who are leaving for Venezuela. He has until July 1st to decide whether or not he is going back. If his answer is yes he has another month’s vacation, both with pay, and his expenses back if he decides to return. He looks just about the same. From some of the photos he had sent home I expected to see his face a bit fuller but he evidently lost any excess flesh he had gained. It is awfully good to have him back again. He spent most of Friday and Saturday in Bridgeport buying clothes as the only suit he had was the one he wore down. I have had no opportunity as yet to have a real talk with him, as quite naturally, he has been flitting hither and yon renewing old acquaintances. He decided to take the front spare room. This morning he spent looking over the Buick, adjusting the carburetor and making sundry adjustments so that the car now runs considerably better.

Thursday night Barbara left early to go to some shower and the next morning Helen called me up and told me the news about her father’s passing. She asked me to be an Honorary Pallbearer for the funeral yesterday afternoon. It was a clear day after the services at Wilmot and West Funeral Home, the funeral procession wended its way to the cemetery in Long Hill in the vicinity of the water tower. Everything went smoothly and decorously. I have seen none of the family since.

I wonder if Dan thinks it worthwhile for me to renew his operator’s license for 1941. If so, we should sign the blank attached to his old one and return it to me.

Unless I hear from you to the contrary, I shall discontinue the serial numbers on my letters, as this was done originally for Dan and Lad’s benefit when they were in the wilds of Venezuela. Elizabeth stopped in a while ago and says they are moving into their new house Saturday afternoon, which is also the day the old tenants are moving out. Your letter was very interesting, Ced. The only question you neglected to answer re: Woodley’s was what competition you have. Nary a word from Reyom.

DAD

When I was recording my Dad’s (Lad)  memories of his life, he told me this story: After working in Venezuela for two and a half years, the company required that I take two months off and go to a temperate climate. So I went home. Just before our ship landed in New York City. an announcement came over the PA system that some government employees would be coming on board. When they arrived, they asked everyone for their passport. They told me that I wouldn’t be getting my passport back. I went to Trumbull and shortly thereafter, got my conscription notice, classifying me 1-A. Because of my draft status, I had trouble finding a job. I’ll finish the week with one letter from Grandpa, one from Grandma Peabody to Ced  and another one from Barbara (Plumb, Dan’s girlfriend) to Ced. 

Judy Guion

4 thoughts on “Trumbull – Lad, Home at Last (2) – June, 1941

  1. Mrs. P says:

    Strange they wouldn’t give the passport back.

Leave a Reply

