Tribute to Arla (10) – 1933

 

Arla Mary Peabody

Arla Mary Peabody Guion

The only thing definite that I know is that Arla Mary Peabody Guion died on June 29, 1933. My guess is that she was in the hospital, but I’m not sure where or what the final cause of death was. I believe she suffered from cancer but that may not have actually caused her death.

I think my grandfather found it difficult to talk to his children about her disease and her sisters, Helen, Anne and Dorothy, wanted to protect the children as much as possible.

The letters of condolence written to my Grandfather after Arla had passed away give us a glimpse of the person she was, apart from the Mother that the children knew. There are quite a few letters and I will be posting them in the coming weeks.

The following letters are from friends that Alfred and Arla knew while they were living in Mount Vernon. After moving to Trumbull, they didn’t see these friends as often as they used to, but kept in touch over the years.

303 Sheridan Blvd.

Mount Vernon, N. Y.

June 30, 1933

Dear Alfred,

I was simply stunned when Stanley Hubbard phoned and said Arla had passed away – I feel it’s a personal loss. Although I have not seen her in many years I can still remember her calm and quiet manner and it has helped me so many, many times when I have been all hot and worry.

My deepest sympathy goes out to you and your little family. I only wish I could say something to comfort you – but at this time words seem futile. Experience has taught me that only God and time can ease the Harding. May God bless and help you.

Sincerely,

Bessie Rice

******************************

149 Chester St.

Mount Vernon, N. Y.

June 30, 1933

Dear Al,

My heart goes out to you in deepest sympathy, for I know from personal experience what you are going through, and how empty and desolate life seems at the present moment. Of course no words of mine can make this burden of grief easier to bear, but the knowledge that our friends are thinking of us at such a time, and that we have their sympathy, does, I think, bring some comfort.

You know how much I admired Arla and how fond of her I was, so, though our lives had been for long, far apart, her going brings to me a deep sense of personal loss.

Her life was a short one, but a full one, and you have the comfort of knowing that it was happy in the love and devotion of her husband and children.

Yours sincerely,

LeRoy W. Hubbard

*******************************

Esplanade Gardens

Mount Vernon, N. Y.

June 30, 1933

My dear Alfred –

My heartfelt sorrow for you and yours goes to you in your great bereavement. I remember Arla so well – she was such a sweet, lovable girl – I could not forget her.

When we have gone through sadness and sorry heartbreaks as I have done, we can only say, God bless and comfort you.

Affectionately,

Laura E Buck

(Mrs. Adrian A.)

******************************

149 Chester St.

Mount Vernon, N. Y.

June 30, 1933

Dear Al,

This is just about the hardest letter that I have ever tried to write to anyone for my heart is so full tonight and there are so many things that I want to say to you and to your family. However, words at such a time are so inadequate even though they are the only means of expression between those space separates.

Although our paths, of recent years, have led us far apart, my thoughts have frequently been with you and yours and it has been a joy to me to hear from time to time how you were all progressing. My reports regarding Arla had all been so heartening that I had hope for complete recovery and a continuation of the happiness that I know you were enjoying.

And then, yesterday afternoon, from Larry through Dad, we heard about the serious illness followed this morning by the news that God had called her home last night. It was a terrific shock to us, Al. We cannot fully comprehend it yet.

However, we are so thankful that it did not drag along with pain and suffering, for she was so patient. For her sake it is far better as it is and I think we can safely say that God was truly merciful.

Fannie and I are so happy that our memory of her can be a truly pleasant one, for the last time we were up, she was so much like her old self except a little tired.

Some time before so very long, I want to run up and see you all. I would come now only I realize full well that it would be no kindness as there is nothing I could do to help and I would only be in the way. But I do want you to know how deeply both Fannie and I feel for you all and we pray that God may give you strength and courage to “carry on”, that He may comfort you as only He can.

As ever,

Stan

Tomorrow, I’ll begin a week of letters written in 1942. Both Dan and Lad are in Uncle Sam’s Army, Dan is in Pennsylvania and is able to get home on some weekends. Lad is being shipped to Flint, Michigan for further training in Diesel mechanics and then to California, where his buddies from Aberdeen Proving Ground have already been sent..

Next weekend I’ll post some more letters from friends far away who received the sad news fairly quickly.

Judy Guion

Leave a Reply

