Army Life – Lad and Flint, Michigan – Dec., 1942

 

Alfred Peabody Guion (Lad)

Alfred Peabody (Lad) Guion

APG - Flint, Michigan letter, Dec. 1942

Cpl. A.P. Guion

Ordnance School –

Flint Section

Armory, 1101 Lewis

Flint, Michigan

Dec. 8, 1942

Dear Dad: –

Arrived home (?) O.K., but, due to the fact that Flint is such a friendly town and so full of really pretty girls, that this is the first time I’ve had a free moment. I should really be ashamed of myself for not taking time to write earlier, but I really have had such a good time, and so thoroughly enjoyed every moment that I can’t honestly say that I am. But I’ll try to be better in the future.

Well, here is the story. Left Aberdeen as scheduled on Wednesday at 1:30 P. M. and drove through plenty of snow and exceedingly high winds (practically a blizzard) over the Penna. Turnpike to Pittsburgh. Due to snow and ice we had to drive with extreme caution, and got to Pitt. about 2:00 A. M. Stayed in Hotel Henery until about 11:30 Thurs. morn., And started again. Again no trouble and we made pretty good time despite snow and ice. We ate supper about 200 miles out of Flint and continued on. We got into Flint about 11:30 Thurs. eve. Couldn’t find a decent room so we stayed in a 3rd (?) Class Hotel and even at that, we really slept. Fri. noon went to the Armory (where we are staying) and discovered that if we checked in then we would have to stand (or rather sleep) an 11:00 bed check, so we went off to the “Y”. No room there but the girl at the desk (a really beautiful blonde) said that her mother had a room she was renting and that it was empty. We went up there and the room was fine. The best part was that she would not accept anything. We not only spent Fri. and Sat. nights there, but had a wonderful supper Sat. night and an invitation to a formal dance given for the man in the Service. It was rather exclusive and there we met Flint, Mich. And, boy, girls galore. And since that time I’ve had more fun than I have ever had in my life. And I really mean that. It is wonderful here. I’ve met more beautiful girls here than I ever thought existed. And everyone is very friendly. If we did not have to stay at the Armory, the stay here would not cost us a cent. In fact, we’ve turned down about six invitations for suppers, because we can’t make them, in four days. Next weekend is all accounted for and the following. And all kinds of dances – most of them for the better society. The “Y” girl, Elizabeth (Lee) Dehanne (Dutch) is of this set, and Vic Bredehoeft and I fitted in perfectly. Since then – WOW —-. I just can’t imagine anything better. More later.

Because the Armory wasn’t clean this morning, everyone has to be confined to quarters tonight, that’s how come this letter, since I had a date with a good-looking nurse, and the lights go out at 10:00 P. M. That’s seven minutes, and I still have to get into bed.

Therefore, adios —

Lad

***********************************************************

Since this is the last communication from Lad until a telegram informing Grandpa to send further mail to Camp Santa Anita, California, I’m posting his certificate of completion of the U. S. Army Mechanics Training, on December 26, 1942, in Flint, Michigan.

APG - GM Certificate, Flint, Michigan, Dec., 1942

Tomorrow, a Christmas card to Ced from the Larry Peabodys.

On Saturday and Sunday, more letters of condolence to Grandpa after the loss of his young wife in 1933.

On Monday, I’ll begin a week of letters written in 1945 as Dan’s wedding to Paulette gets closer and closer.

Judy Guion

3 thoughts on “Army Life – Lad and Flint, Michigan – Dec., 1942

  1. Patty B says:

    I am not sure if I told you but my dad was also a diesel mechanic. He was stationed in places like Fort Ord (after his return from Pearl Harbor) which I am understanding many soldiers were, Fort Bragg was a favorite destination for dad and he was there at least 3 different time, and in Germany 4 times (once during the war)….When I read your letters I often think of my dad and what he must have wrote to his mom. I saved all my “emails” from my son when he was deployed and all the letters from my husband – one of these days I would like to sort through them. But they are not detailed like this wonderful letters. My men were not writers!! 🙂 Blessings for your day…

    • jaggh53163 says:

      Patty – I’m thrilled that my letters bring you happy memories from your Dad. Members of the “Greatest Generation” very seldom talked about their experiences and I’m grateful that Grandpa’s boys were writers – at least sometimes. I’m sure that if I had the letters my Dad wrote to my Mom, I would have many, many more stories of his experiences. I have no idea what my Mom did with them..At least the boys wrote to their father – sometimes. 😀

Leave a Reply

