Tribute to Arla (11) – 1933

Arla Mary Peabody Guion

Arla Mary Peabody Guion

Grandpa was a prolific writer and corresponded with friends and family all over the country. Word of the death of Arla traveled quickly and Grandpa received many letters of condolence from near and far.

2806 Drexel Lane

Drexel Hill, PA.

July 1, 1933

Dear Alfred,

You have been in my thoughts all day, for your very sad message came in the early morning’s mail. Elsie joins me in sending our heartfelt sympathy to you and the children. We grieve with you in this very great loss to you all.

Arla’s passing came as a very great shock to us, for we had heard of no serious illness.

We shall love to remember her as she was the last time we saw her at your lovely home in Trumbull, when we all had lunch together on the terrace. Our children often speak of the pleasant hours they spent their.

Our school closed yesterday and we’re looking forward to a much needed rest. We will be home during July, but are planning to spend August and a little cottage in Maine, on Sebago Lake, about 18 miles from Portland. We were there last summer during August, and felt so delightfully rested by September 1, that we are returning to renew the experience.

As soon as you feel able, I hope you will write me again. We wired some flowers today and hope they reach you in good time. With all my love and prayers to help you in this time of sorrow, I remain

Faithfully your old friend

Jerry

******************************

817 Mountain Ave.

Westfield, N. J.

July 1 –

Dear Al,

We were all very much shocked to receive your note about Arla – I never was any good at expressing myself, but you know how we all feel for you and how fond we were of Arla even though we saw each other but now and then. I can well understand how you will miss her and only hope that you will find comfort and help in those fine children of yours.

Sincerely,

Ray

******************************

25 Wallace Ave.

Mount Vernon, New York

July 1, 1933

Dear Alfred –

We were very much shocked to hear about Arla. Although we never saw you folks, we spoke about you frequently, and it really seems as if she has been taken from among our daily companions.

To offer our sympathy is a poor way in which to comfort you, but please know also that you have our earnest prayers. The comfort that comes in such times as these through faith in Jesus Christ is far greater than we can give by any words of ours, but we can ask Him to give you the peace that He has promised to all who believe in Him. This we do that your sorrow may be lessened and your burden made easier to bear.

Sincerely yours,

Emily and Joe Van Tassel

*******************************

Saint Luke’s Rectory

 Arla Mary Peabody c. 1911

Arla Mary Peabody
c. 1911

406 Jefferson Ave.

Scranton, Pennsylvania

July 1, 1933

Dear Alfred,

Your brief line about Arla really speaks volumes, for the years slip away and I think of you both before even you were married! I believe I know right well what this means, even though I have not seen you for a long time. I do wish I might have come to you and been with the family and you. I would so like to see and know them all. What a comfort they must now be. I am in Saybrook after the seventh – I shall promise myself to see you or write again.

We will think of you in church tomorrow and no more fervent prayers were ever offered them my own heartfelt petitions for the comforting presence that brings peace and balm to such as you.

My affectionate interest is yours still and I recalled the dear, lovely girl, whose picture is as of years ago, but was yours to hold it devotion and loyalty all through them. May the good God bring you peace and comfort.

Sincerely,

Robert P. Kreitler

(The minister at the Church of the Ascension in Mount Vernon, N. Y. where Alfred and Arla grew up and who oficiated it at their marriage ceremony.)

******************************

Tomorrow, I’ll continue with more letters of condolence to Grandpa. 

On Monday, we’ll move to 1945. Lad and Dan are both stationed in France, Ced remains in Alaska, Dick is in Brazil and Dave is in Okinawa. Grandpa continues to hold the family together with news and insights of interest to all.

 

Judy Guion

2 thoughts on “Tribute to Arla (11) – 1933

  1. Re-reading tributes years after a sad event can bring great solace.

    • jaggh53163 says:

      Maureen – I can understand how that would be true. “Sympathy cards” don’t quite fill the same purpose unless there is a personal note regarding the loved one. For me, it gives a glimpse of who my Grandmother was. That is priceless.

Leave a Reply

