Tribute to Arla (12) – 1933

Arla Mary Peabody Guion

Arla Mary Peabody Guion

Arla Mary Peabody Guion, wife of Grandpa and Mother to all the children Grandpa is writing to, passed away after a battle, probably cancer, in 1933. In many of my earlier posts, Arla is mentioned in Grandpa’s early memories and the recorded memories of her children. We see her as a wife and mother. These letters give us a glimpse of the woman she was to family and friends, both near and far. It is a totally different perspective.

1837 Huntington Turnpike

Bridgeport (Nichols), Connecticut

July 1, 1933

Dear Mr. Guion,

We saw the sad news in the paper last night and we all want to tell you how very sorry and how shocked we were. We send you and the family our heartfelt sympathy in all sincerity and pray God to help you all over this dark spot.

Sincerely yours,

All of the Linleys of Nichols

If there is anything we can do for you please let us know and we shall be glad to help in any way, because words seem so useless when one is so helpless to do anything.

Mrs. A. H. Linley

******************************

The Belknap Manufacturing Co.

Bridgeport, Connecticut

July 1, 1933

Alfred D Guion

My dear Al,

I was told this morning of Mrs. Guion’s death by one who reads the local newspapers more regularly than I. As one old friend to another, I sent you my love and deepest sympathy to you and all the “bairns”.

Most sincerely yours,

Steve

******************************

1329 Huntington Turnpike

Bridgeport Connecticut

July 3, 1933

Dear Alfred:-

I am shocked and grieved on learning of the sudden passing of your dear wife and companion. Please accept my sincere and heartfelt sympathy in your bereavement. She was a very exceptional woman and a wonderful mother. My heart goes out to your family of fine children. There is only one such and I mourn with you all, believe me.

Most sincerely,

Romeo Williams

*****************************

Pitcher’s Pond

near Belfast, Maine

July 3, 1933

Dear Alfred:-

I am too sorry to hear of Arla’s passing to adequately express myself. All I can say is that I extend to you my sincere sympathy and hope that you’ll have the strength and courage to carry on.

Especially I am mindful of your motherless children. I hope you can keep the family together and carry on successfully.

Florence forwarded your note here where I am with some friends over the fourth.

They’re going into town with the mail so I cannot write more now.

Of course this is quite a shock to me as I did not know Arla was not in normal health.

Well, words are empty things and change the only thing that doesn’t change.

Hope to see you some time soon.

Sincerely,

Alex

******************************

North American Newspaper Alliance

The New York Times Annex

247 West 43rd St.

New York

Friday

My dear Al:

I know you will excuse the machine; I am still a bit shaky.

There is little that I can say that will help you, just now. You know that we share your grief, because the great loss is ours, also. Never was there a finer, more unselfish character, and it seems unfair that she must leave us now, when all of us need so much her brave smile, her deep and quiet understanding.

It is perhaps because she has already done far more than one person’s share to make life happier and more endurable for others.

I know that that realization on your part will do more than any written or spoken words to give you the courage and strength to be what she would have wished all this time.

We most earnestly should like to help. Could you let us have one of the children for a while, or longer? He would be welcome as one of our family, without taking him from you. I know you will not hesitate if there is any appeal to you in this thought.

God bless you and yours,

Roger

Tomorrow, I’ll be posting more of the letters of condolence written to Grandpa at the lowest point in his life.

On Monday, we’ll move to 1945. Lad and Dan are both stationed in France, Ced remains in Alaska, Dick is in Brazil and Dave is in Okinawa. Grandpa continues to hold the family together with news and insights of interest to all, especially Dan and Paulette’s wedding.

Judy Guion

Leave a Reply

