Tribute to Arla (13) – 1933

Arla Mary Peabody Guion

Arla Mary Peabody Guion

Arla Mary Peabody Guion passed away, probably from Cancer, when Lad, my father, was 19 and her youngest, Dave, was 9. It was quite a blow to the entire family and they spoke of it very rarely.

After the death of his wife, Grandpa continues to receive letters of condolence from family,friends and business acquaintances who also feel the great loss of Arla.

The Roost

New Paltz, N. Y.

Dear Alfred,

We were terribly shocked when we received Cousin Betty’s (Aunt Betty) note letting us know about Arla. There were no details whatever and we did not even know that Arla was ill.

Alfred, words are so futile but you must know in your heart that we are exceedingly grieved for you and for ourselves. We have been so far away from the families in the last few years that now it seems horrible and a matter of keen regret.

In this modern age of skepticism and unbelief, I have tried hard to keep to the one truth that God does have us after we leave here, and if you try to think that Arla is the guest of God, I am sure that it will bring you some comfort.

When you feel like it, I should love to hear from you and if you can possibly come up to New Paltz for over some week and, I wish you would come. We are renting a little place called the “The Roost” as our own house is leased for the entire year now.

If you could come just drop me a postal or telephone New Paltz 127 F 3.

Please remember us to the children and with love to you I am

Yours sincerely,

Nan (Grandpa’s cousin)

July third

Nineteen thirty-three

*********************

Washingtom, DC

Dear Mr. Guion,

A letter just received from Helen Plumb has told us of Mrs. Guion death, after a long illness. That is quite a shock to us, for although I knew, years ago, she was in a hospital, we did not know of any recent illness. Please accept our heartfelt sympathy. I recall with pleasure our most happy visits with your wife, and shall ever remember her as a wonderful, loving and cultured soul. Between the two of you, you certainly got that tribe of fellows started right – and the girl.

These will be tough years for you and I only wish I might be able to personally help you. But keep close to God and His church, and you will the better come through. Mrs. Lineback and I are here in Washington. We left Ohio two months ago. In this setting, I was (am) V.P. of the Huroquois Council in West Virginia. That is an area Council with 84 troops in it. My church here has a huge troop of 50 boys, a Scoutmaster and seven assistants. All the boys in uniform. It’s a great troop.

Today, the fourth, Mrs. Lineback and I are at home – she doing the wash, I with the bad cold. She joins me in expressing our sympathy and love to you and to the family. God strengthen you.

As ever your friend,

W.J. Lineback

*****************

HOLLIS P. STEVENSON

745 North Avenue

Bridgeport, Connecticut

July 4, 1933

My dear Al:

I was not only surprised, but genuinely concerned, when I read in the paper the other morning of the passing of your good wife. For I Blog - Condolence - Hollis S. Stevensonhad no idea that she had been ailing of late, nor that you had any cause for alarm. In questioning Clayton Buckingham at the office, I learned that Mrs. Guion had not been at all well lately, which was indeed news to me. Al, at a time like this your friends can’t do an awful lot. Maybe your immediate neighbors can and were of some service. But those of us who only met occasionally on business, and other projects in which we are mutually interested, find it rather difficult to let you know how we feel. However, I, who have valued your friendship over the period of a number of years, can at least drop you a line and say that I feel very deeply for you in your sorrow and loss. That will probably be of as much comfort to you as if I dropped in and personally shook your hand. I know from experience how many friends and acquaintances there are who take up one’s time and thought in a moment like this, when possibly you would prefer the company of your immediate family.

So, Al, I just want you to know that I have been thinking of you these last few days, and have asked the Supreme Father to give you the comfort of your splendid boys and girl to sustain you during this trying time of readjustment of your family life.

With my very best wishes for you and yours,

Cordially your friend,

Hollis

********************

New Paltz

July 4, ‘33

Dear Alfred,

I cannot express to you my deep sympathy in this time of trouble – words are so inadequate and help me a little.

But you will know, my dear, that I grieve with you and for the children. May God give you strength to carry on and you will find comfort in caring for those lovely boys and your dear daughter.

You will have to be both mother and father, whereas she will need you most. I can really say no more except that it is a great shock to me – for I thought Arnold was getting along nicely.

All my love to you and your little ones.

Aunt Mamie

Tomorrow, I’ll be posting more of the letters of condolence received by Grandpa after the death of his young wife.

On Monday I’ll begin a week of letters written in 1041. Lad has returned from Venezuela and is looking for a job, but with his draft classification, it is not an easy thing.

Judy Guion

4 thoughts on “Tribute to Arla (13) – 1933

  1. Mrs. P says:

    I like the way people talk about difficult subjects…there is very little depth these days in these type of letters…more than the lost art of letter writing we have lost the art of showing compassion.

Leave a Reply

