Tribute to Arla (18) – 1933

Arla Mary Peabody Guion

Arla Mary Peabody            Guion

Blog - Letter of condolence - J.P. Oppenheimer

Mr. Alfred D. Guion

231 Fairfield Avenue

Bridgeport, Conn.

Dear Mr. Guion:

It certainly was terrible news to me to hear of your bereavement. It was particularly shocking as it came right on top of news of the sudden passing away of a dear friend of mine.

Words cannot express my heartfelt sympathy in your hours of sorrow, and I hope the good God will soften them to make your loss a fond memory of golden hours spent with the most cherished and loved one.

If my lame expressions can only convey to you one half of my feeling and sympathy, I am thankful to be able to add them to those of your many friends.

I sincerely hope that time will heal this very deep wound and that the memory of your loved one will serve to press you forward to greater success for her sake and remembrance.

Sincerely yours,

J.P. Oppenheimer

%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%

July 27Blog - Letter of condolence - Frank Hetzel

Dear Al,

Elsa and I were so shocked that it seems all we can say, over and over again, is, “We are so sorry.” and “Why should it have had to be Al’s wife?”

There is so much one could write and say and after all we could write and say, it would all mean that our heartfelt sympathies go out to you and yours. You know this old-timer.

Elsa is all okay and the kiddies too. I’ll be in Bridgeport soon and would be awfully glad to see you.

Love to all the kiddies-

Frank Hetzel

%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%

August 1, 1933Blog - Letter of condolence - Irving Blaine

Dear Al:

I was shocked to hear of your loss and want to extend my sincere sympathy. One thinks of such a possibility now and then but it hardly seems possible when it actually happens to a friend, much less than to one’s self.

My “little” family is away for the summer at the beach, so I only see them weekends. Next week is my vacation so that will shorten this month considerably.

I’ll see that you get a Standard Rate Book now and then, if I have to”lose” one.

Sincerely yours,

Irving E. Blaine

These are the final letters of condolence I have that were sent to Grandpa following the death of his wife, Arla, after only 20 years of marriage.

 

Next weekend, we will move forward to 1934, over a year since Arla Mary Peabody Guion, my Grandmother, had passed away. Her only daughter, Elizabeth, is 14 and having a very hard time dealing with everything. I think that Grandpa, having his own problems adjusting to the loss if his wife, is thinking that his only daughter, Biss, should help with running the household and she is having nothing to do with that idea. Grandpa and Arla’s sisters, Aunts Helen, Anne and Dorothy, discuss the situation and decide that Elizabeth should move to St. Petersburg, Florida, to live with Aunt Anne and to help her care for her children, Donald and Gweneth, spending a year away from Trumbull.  On Saturday and Sunday, for many weeks to come, I’ll be posting the letters written during this time.

Judy Guion

Leave a Reply

