Life in St. Petersburg, Florida (4) – Thanksgiving Was Awful ! (2) – December, 1934

The next day we started for St. Pete at about 10 AM and we got back around 11. I drove about halfway. Then we changed into our bathing suits and went to St. Pete Beach. I stayed on the beach for about an hour then went up to the car and took a nap. We came home about six o’clock. I think we went into town for dinner.

The next day Mr. Bailey and the Farmers came and stayed overnight and we went to the beach the next day. I stayed for about three hours then got in the car and took a nap. In other words every weekend we go to the beach and I get into the car. That last one was a mistake. I got into the car and stayed for a half hour just thinking, when they came up after me and told me to come fishing with them. We fished for about two hours and caught eight fish.

Then we came back and ate on the beach. Mr. Bailey had brought some steaks. We didn’t cook the fish there because it was late and would take too much time to cook.

Is the furnace fixed? I gather that Alfred is the caretaker for the furnace?

I should think you would have saved some money by buying your overcoat now instead of dyeing your spring coat – seeing as you have to buy one anyway. That was like saving $.50 and spending a dollar. Aunt Anne does realize what you are up against because she’s up against the exact same thing.

She suggested $10 and I just added more and didn’t have room to explain the whole thing. That ten was for all my extra expenses including dental work. I have all the books I need at present. Later on I have to get another book for English and one for French.

I will see about the Chamber of Commerce – you know we have no phone, otherwise, I would have given you the number long ago.

Tonsillitis is catching so I don’t think it wise for David to play with her or else you’ll have another doctor bill on hand. It rained a few drops last evening. Cloudy half the day today.

School closes the 21st and opens the 7th. Don and Gwen like anything that Dick or Dave would – Anne – you know. I don’t know what I want although I would like a Hawaiian guitar, fairly good – if possible.

Love,

Biss

Tomorrow I’ll start letters written in 1943. Lad is starting a new adventure in California with three of his buddies from Aberdeen, Maryland.

Judy Guion

9 thoughts on “Life in St. Petersburg, Florida (4) – Thanksgiving Was Awful ! (2) – December, 1934

  1. Mrs. P says:

    I love the way this letter shows Biss’ age…short abrupt sentences. She writes like I did, looking at the letter she received from dad and one by one answering his questions.

    • jaggh53163 says:

      Mrs. P. – Yes, very thorough and accurate. Since we know Grandpa is such a stickler for proper language usage, spelling, etc., it was probably a little intimidating to write to him. At least that’s how I felt when he was in Florida for the winter and I’d write to him. He always returned my letters marked up in RED pencil, showing each mistake I made…. You can bet I NEVER misspelled the word “license” after I told him I had gotten my “lisense”..

Leave a Reply

