Trumbull – Today’s Program (2) – Lad – May, 1945

APG - APG at D_____ ______  a_____, 25 June, 1945

Page 2    5/27/45

“Still France, May 13th”. A mystery is solved. For some reason I received a letter from Marian in about five days (thus making a liar out of ye editor first crack out-of-the-box. Ed.) instead of the usual eight or 10, and in it she mentions that Aunt Elsie is much better. Not even having heard that she was in Trumbull, the fact that she was better sort of had me going for a couple of days. Then your letter and a couple of earlier ones from Marian have cleared up a disturbing situation. I hope by now she has completely recovered and that you all were able to prevail upon her to take that much needed rest. Continual activity coupled with mental stress surely can tire one completely. Which brings you to mind, I hope you are trying to keep healthy and rested. Take it easy, Dad, and don’t wear yourself out. Many of the things that should be done can wait for a more opportune moment. We’ll all be home sometime before long and can do so many of those things then, that much needed energy expended now seems futile. As usual, I’m well, but that cold insists on sticking around. It is really more of a cough. The weather has been so changeable that it is very hard to dress for it and I believe that is one of the main reasons for its persistence. The last couple of days have been beautiful but very warm and I’m not used to such warm weather yet and do a lot of perspiring. If it keeps up, however, I’ll get used to it and I’ll be in my glory – – almost. The future is even more of a blank just now than before but it doesn’t look too bright being as optimistic as I am, it is hard to get me down. I’m still hoping to see you all soon. Local news, due to repression by the end of the ETO campaign just isn’t, and the news of the news is old, so for a comment on how the news was treated over here you should see Marian. And now you’re letters.

Apr, 22. By now you must already know most of the answers to the transfer of troops. However, just which ones they will be will not be known for a while yet. After that???? Thank you, Dad, for your reassurance of our “headquarters” when we are waiting for the opportunity to launch our personal offensive in that greatest of battles. I know it will really be appreciated. Just at the moment there are no particular trade journals I would like to receive. Uncertainty is the biggest reason – – of location and of subject matter. Thanks just the same.

Apr. 29. Apparently Dave is seeing a little of the South Pacific, and Western, too. He should have some grand stories to tell. What a lucky guy Nellie was. Is he home to stay? I shall write to Larry and Marion. I thinkI’ve only written once since we were there on furlough. Spring this year seems to have been affected by the uncertainty in the world, too. And I’m really sorry to hear that their big pine tree blew down. It was in a very conspicuous place, even though Larry will get plenty of exercise. The Navy is as bad as the Army I guess, but I’m glad Catherine has decided to go to Mass. It could have created rather an unpleasant situation. That article you sent me about using x-ray as a catalyst was very interesting and educational. Did I ever thank you for the one other you sent concerning electric power for autos? If I didn’t, please accept my thanks now for that as well as the last. Remember, Dad, take it easy and give my love to everybody. Be seeing you soon (?) Lad.”

Tomorrow, the end of this letter, with a letter from Dave. Thursday and Friday, another letter from Grandpa.

Judy Guion 

Leave a Reply

