Trumbull – Today’s Program (3) – Dave – May, 1945

ADG - Grandpa (Alfred Duryee Guion), Aunt Elsie (Elsie May Guion), Aunt Betty (Lizzie Duryee) - Oct. 1945 in Trumbull

Grandpa, Aunt Elsie and Aunt Betty

Page 3    5/27/45

As to Aunt Elsie, our combined persuasive powers could not induce her to stay for a “visit”. Her conscience would have nullified the good effect of a longer stay so she up and packed her things and took off for the dugout in the Grand Central on the 1: 35 P. M. train today. We will all miss her. And that cough of yours. I’d like to have a dollar for every time in the years that are passed that your mother and I bothered about that same cough of yours. Do you remember our taking you to the Dr. for a thorough chest examination to make sure there was no evidence of t.b., And of course the main reason I got the goats was because goats milk was said to be particularly effective in warding off the disease. The doc gave you a clean bill of health, but we had many anxious moments over that croupy cough nevertheless.

Another from Dave, May 19th, arriving on the 26th. Makes me wonder if he really is as far away as we think he is. Anyway, it’s good to know his letters get here so quickly. He says: “Dear Dad: How is your harem? Bet they’re a happy bunch of wives these days. Is there any news on whether Dan and Lad and Dick are coming over here to help me or are they going home to work out the finer things in life? Tell them that everything is under control over here and that their kid brother is big enough now to hold his own. These Japs are half-pint size, so if I don’t hurt their feelings you could tell them that I’ll take care of things over here. You are right !!! I can use the netting. Food will never be wasted – – no matter what it is either. How about a metal mirror? I got a letter from Bissie yesterday. It didn’t say much but it was a letter. I guess Marty and Butch must be getting pretty big now. Does Marty start school in September or does he have another year to go yet? I’ve got a new job now – – clerical work of course. I like it quite well but I haven’t been doing it long enough yet to really tell. At least you can see I work very hard – – this is my typewriter for work. (The letter I am now quoting is typewritten. Ed) You asked in one of your letters about the living conditions here and the weather and terrain. Well, we are somewhat restricted as to what we can say – – but they can’t do any more than cut out what I’ve written, so here goes. First of all, I’ve been telling you that my morale is good – – so therefore, you probably guessed that the food is good and living quarters are comfortable. We’re living in 8-man perimetal tents – – six in ours. Our team – four besides myself – live with a motor mechanic in our tent. The team chief is one of the most brilliant guys I know. His assistant – – our chief engineer and architect – – is a hell of a good guy with a lot of ingenuity – – if you like our tent when I send you a picture of it you can blame him for it – – we’ve got a wood floor in our tent and plenty of sandbags around the sides. We’re sleeping on army cots so considering everything, we don’t lead a bad life. Chow is getting better all the time – – we even made our own oven so that now we’re getting bread. Weather is good. Not too hot. It rains only about once every two weeks but when it does, it rains like hell. The terrain is very beautiful – valleys and hills. The foliage is pretty. The ground is soft and rich. Almost no rocks. However, there are rocks on the hills making them very pretty – Conn. style. Well, that’s a smattering of it all. If it goes through you have some of the information you wanted. Love. Dave.”

The censor didn’t cut a thing. Give me some more. Meantime, good hunting.

DAD

Tomorrow I’ll start another letter from Grandpa to his sons and finish it on Friday. Saturday and Sunday will be more letters about Life In St Petersburg, Florida with Biss, Aunt Anne (Peabody) Stanley and her children.

Judy Guion

 

8 thoughts on “Trumbull – Today’s Program (3) – Dave – May, 1945

  1. alesiablogs says:

    Luv your dedication

    • jaggh53163 says:

      alesia – Thank you. Sharing these stories are a joy for me because I have the chance to share this lifestyle with so many who have no idea what it was like during World War II. It is just an incident in our history and little is taught about why it even happened. It is sad but so many are re-writing history to fit their own agenda. I have this opportunity to share this very personal view in the words of those who lived through it.

  2. utkarsh7668 says:

    they all are looking lovely with a pleasureous and sweet smile

Leave a Reply

