Life in St Petersburg, (12) – Please, Please, Please – April, 1935

At this point, Aunt Biss is definitely thinking about coming home. She almost sounds wistful as she thinks about her brothers.

Friday night

10:00 PM

4/19/1935

Dear Dad:

Elizabeth (Biss) Westlin Guion

Elizabeth (Biss) Westlin Guion

I have just gotten back from church. The whole thing was just music – and it was very pretty. There were one or two very nice voices in the choir also. Absolutely the only talking was at the very end when the preacher gave a half minute sermon for dismissal. The service was “The Seven Last Sentences of Jesus” or something to that effect. Buelah – the maid – stayed with the children so Aunt Anne and I were able to go with peaceful minds. I have to go in to tell Aunt Anne that I put the hot water heater on for her so I will be back in a minute.

This is going to be what you would call a rather selfish letter – it is selfishness on my part. First – I have told several people down here a great deal about my family – perhaps too much, for I am quite proud of them and I also said plenty about the house. I have shown them the pictures of all of

Lilac Bush

Lilac Bush

you which were taken while you were down here – but I have no picture of the house to show them. They evidently have never seen a lilac for they haven’t the slightest inkling of what they look like – so – I was wondering if you would take a picture of the house from every angle and then send them down here to me. Please take the pictures when the lilacs are in bloom for that is the time I like best. If you feel as if it would be too much, why, you can send the films down and I will have them developed here. I would also have one of Mack – for they have heard how wonderful he is.

The other favor is much, much larger but I hope you will do it so that I may carry out my plans – that is – Aunt Anne’s finances are very low – too low for comfort and so I told her that I was going to suggest to you that you send me – if possible – money for my passage home. I stayed up until 11 one night figuring out the cost for one steamline and I am going to find out the price for the other tomorrow or one day next week. The total cost for the Savanna line – minimum – would be around fifty dollars. Dad, I am going to change that a little bit. How anxious are you to see me? You see, Aunt Anne may not be going home until July or August and I explained to her that I would like to get home and I wished to go home around June 1 if she didn’t mind. I am hoping to go home by June 1 at the latest and want to know if you will help me out – something tells me you are angry at reading this letter and thank goodness – I am far enough away to be fairly safe – don’t take it out on the poor boys. But seriously, Dad, please don’t delay answering for it is a case of life or death and I want to know which my fate is to be. Please don’t mention this to anyone, not even my brothers – for if it is “No”, I don’t want them to be disappointed (I suppose I should say overjoyed) and if it is “Yes” (as I hope, although I try not to) then I want to surprise them all – and I think I can get my transportation home from New York – so you needn’t worry about that – if I can’t I will let you know ahead of time. Please hurry so I won’t get nervous prostration while waiting.

Love,

Your hoping, but not too expectant, daughter,

Biss

P.S. Please answer in the affirmative  like a good pop.

P.P.S.  It is 11:36 P.M. Tsk, tsk, tsk!

This coming week I’ll be posting letters written in 1945. Dan and Paulette are hoping to get married in July but so much depends on the Army, they really don’t know if they will be able to pull it off. I have divided a long letter from Dave into four segments, Monday through Thursday, and on Friday, I’ll post a letter to Ced from his sister, Biss.

Judy Guion

Leave a Reply

