Ced’s Coming of Age Adventure (6-b) – Chicago World’s Fair – July, 1934

While Ced was traveling to North Dakota and Wisconsin to find his late Mother’s family, he stopped at the 1934 Chicago World’s Fair. He kept documents, letters and memorabilia from the Fair. Post number 6 is taken from a booklet, “What I saw at the Chicago World’s Fair – 1934” and it includes comments written by Ced on every page. This is the second post in the series.

 

CDG - Chicago Fasir - 1934 (Sky Ride (2)

SKY RIDE

Went up to the tower on the island side and saw the elevators operating, wonderful view from the tower at night and I wished that I had brought my camera along. I could see all the Fair Grounds, with Beautiful lights playing on them and also the city of Chicago with its millions of lights. The tower is the equivalent of 60 stories high and cost over 1 million to build.

I also road in one of the cars and felt a little uneasy on the way over.

CDG - Chicago Fasir - 1934 (Avenue of Flags) (2)

AVENUE OF THE FLAGS

I walked down this avenue on a day when the flags were green and the next time I saw them they were green again and when I got some postcards on which the flags were read. I felt quite angered that they should do this just to give the card hire color but later found out that there are several sets of flags. There is nothing extremely unusual about these flags.

CDG - Chicago Fair - 1934 (Social Science Building ) (2)

SOCIAL SCIENCE BUILDING

Spent very little time in this building and did not get a great deal of joy from it.

There were several “figure pictures” which were rather interesting.

CDG - Chicago Fair - 1934 (General Exhibits Building) (2)

GENERAL EXHIBITS BUILDING

Went through this building and found quite a few things which were interesting. I bought one of the tubes of I Pana toothpaste which had just been made under public scrutiny. Of course most of the exhibits were commercial and therefore not all of them were interesting, however a few of them were quite good.

CDG - Chicago Fair - 1934 (Administration Building) (2)

ADMINISTRATION BUILDING

I could not go in here and so can’t say much about it, except that I don’t know a thing about it and furthermore, it is all a mystery to me.

CDG - Chicago Fair - 1934 (A Lincoln Group) (2)

A LINCOLN GROUP

As an admission was charged in here I did not go in feeling that it would not be worth the price asked.

CDG - Chicago Fair - 1934 (Federal Building) (2)

FEDERAL BUILDING

This is on the island and certainly does have a wonderful court to look out on.

The Hall of States adjoined this building but neither Connecticut or New York were represented.

CDG - Chicago Fair - 1934 (Horticultural Building) (2)

HORTICULTURAL BUILDING

I got in here on a concession tickets and was surprised at the great interest I was able to work up over the exhibits in the building and the lovely gardens outside and in the rear. I spent quite a bit of time in this building and the gardens.

CDG - Chicago Fair - 1934 ( Maya Temple) (2)

MAYA TEMPLE

Walked into this building and stayed about five minutes and then turned around and walked out again. I could work up very little enthusiasm over it.

Tomorrow I’ll be posting a special Christmas message.

I’ll finish the third and fourth sections of this booklet on New Year’s Weekend. I’ll continue with Grandpa’s special Christmas cards during the coming week.

Judy Guion

 

 

5 thoughts on “Ced’s Coming of Age Adventure (6-b) – Chicago World’s Fair – July, 1934

  1. Like being taken by the hand and led by someone with a personal moment to share with you in history.

    • jaggh53163 says:

      Thank you, Maureen. You expressed it so beautifully. Ced does it in this trip. Grandpa does it in his weekly letters. I’m proud to share these Slices of Life and family history with you.

Leave a Reply

