Trumbull – Grandma and Dorothy Move Out (1) – August, 1941

This is the first half of a letter sent to Grandpa to his three sons who are all living and working in Alaska. They are all worried about the draft as much as their oldest brother, Lad, on the east coast, is worrying.

 

Alfred Duryee Guion (Grandpa)

   Alfred Duryee Guion

(Grandpa)

                                                                                                                                                                        Trumbull, Conn., August 31, 1941

Dear sons:

If one puts no restraint on one’s thoughts but just naturally expresses on paper the first thing that occurs to one’s mind, what would you guess would be the uppermost thought, even though it be not so pleasant a one with which to start a letter and one already worn almost threadbare? You guessed it. If you, Dan, and you, Dick, for weeks on end, for a period of two months at least, day after day had called on the postmaster for a letter and your old dad had failed to write you, how would you feel about it all? Are you both so much busier than Ced? In a few days now it will be my birthday. One of the nicest remembrances I could receive would be a real long friendly letter from each of you. I’m hoping.

In that connection, and following my usual custom of celebrating the occasion by evidencing the fact I am glad to be alive, I have mailed you collectively my copy of “Wild Geese Calling” which I hope you will enjoy reading. You don’t need to bother about returning it. Maybe Rusty or some other of your friends may like to read it also.

Zeke went fishing this morning so I invited Bissie and her brood over to Sunday dinner. They have just left.

Burton and Helen were up over the weekend. Aunt Dorothy is much improved, has been gaining weight steadily and is now practically back to normal. They have taken an apartment in New Rochelle and plan to move into it on Wednesday of this week. Helen has gone down with Burton today and Burton expects to drive up Wednesday to pick up Grandma and Dorothy. About the middle of the month Helen expects to leave for Brownsville, Texas, to join Ted for an indefinite stay.

Lad has heard nothing more from the draft, although I think I told you there was an article in the paper some weeks ago under a Shelton (draft board headquarters for this district) date line that mentioned Lad’s name among others that would be called into service the latter part of August. It is my understanding that Footherap is taking up the matter of temporary deferment with the board in Lad’s behalf. He likes the job he has with the Producto Co., and is being paid $.50 an hour with prospects of advancement.

My Buick’s speedometer shows a mileage of 20,000, concurrently with which one of my white sidewall tires has blown, another has had to be vulcanized and still a third has a patch on it. So the only thing seemed to be to get two new tires. Through Wells, Lad has been able to get a discount on two new black wall General tires, net cost of which is around $30. (white side walls would have cost an additional $19 for the two tires). Due to the shortage Lad had some trouble in locating my size but finally succeeded in getting two General tires. I think I shall have the two good tires still left retreaded which will fix me up fairly well for the winter. I have also, at Lad’s recommendation, bought an entire new set of spark plugs.

Tomorrow, I’ll be posting the rest of this letter.

On Saturday and Sunday, I’ll share the next steps through the eyes of 17-year-old Ced, on his Coming of Age Adventure.

Judy Guion

Leave a Reply

