Trumbull – Dear Trio From Anchorage (2) – Thoughts on The Draft – September, 1941

Trumbull House - Grandpa and kids - 1928 (2) Little Driveway view - 1928

It certainly did appear as though you all enjoyed your Labor Day holiday – – Dan with his interesting Homer trip (and I felt after reading it I would like to be about 20 years younger and go homesteading there myself) and Ced and Dick with that interesting instructive and enjoyable trip to the mine. I could not help but muse on the fact that while you at last saw Independence Mine,  (  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Willow_Creek_mining_district  ) it was about a year later than you expected to see it and then under very different circumstances, sans Rusty, etc.

For the last few days there has been a tang of autumn in the air, there is no evidence yet of the leaves beginning to turn to their gaudy fall wardrobe. I went out and chopped a few branches for the faire this morning, but stopped pretty soon as the hay fever began to get familiarly fresh. Pretty soon, I’m sorry to say, we will be having the furnace cleaned out (I spent several hours on the kitchen oil stove some weeks ago) and will be back again in the old winter groove. Lad is still plugging away at his new job at Producto. He has heard nothing one way or another as to his draft call. I hope both of you will escape, but if it does come I really feel, aside from the curtailed income, it will do you a whole lot of good to get the training and live the life that they make you live, with its regular hours and hardening exercise. And if you do get called you will probably be able to get into some line of work that will be interesting and will go to it with all your hearts and ability like you have other things and make good on the job. Nellie (Nelson Sperling) dropped in to see us (principally Lad) the other day and I should say it has completely transformed him. Much as I dislike to admit it things do look as though it would not be long before we are really in a shooting war, in which case I still don’t quite see eye to eye with you that the Hitler breed will understand any other language than cold steel, and we would be lots safer speaking this language to him in self-defense, although there are always two sides to every question, I am not sure that all the dire predictions one hears as to what is going to happen to us and the world will actually be as bad as some of our extremists would have us believe. Like every other big question, I think the truth lies in between the isolationist view and that of the warmongers. Nothing really turns out as badly as the extremists prophesy will happen. That applies to you if you are called in the draft. You’ll find is has its good points and if you are wise you will make the best of a bad situation as you know the man is unbeatable who makes every kick a boost. I have faith enough in your fund of common sense to know that I will be proud of whatever course you take.

Ced, you’re a little joy spreader. Your kind words about my letters and the welcome they receive are very reassuring, because ofttimes I feel my letters are hardly worth reading and I anticipate your sense of disappointment when you get through and say to yourself “Well, there is darned little in that letter”. On the other hand I never feel that way about the letters from you boys (particularly Dick’s, Here! Here!), So I guess maybe old Bobby Burns was forever right when he made the remark about ’some power the giftie gie us see oursels as others see us ‘.

As day wanes and dusk begins to creep over the landscape I find my brain doing likewise, and rather than permit it to trail off and this letter end in a thin trail of smoke I will stop now while there is still enough left to typewrite a  virile snappy

DAD

Tomorrow, more information about Ced’s Coming of Age Adventure.

Next week, the letters I’ll be posting were written in 1943. Lad has just mentioned a friend, Marian, to Grandpa. He seems to be having fun with her and the rest of the gang.

Judy Guion

Leave a Reply

